Root keeps failing


Last Updated:

  1. Trauma

    Trauma Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    35
    I have android SDK, i follow the steps, i run the CMD program and it goes through the process.

    After about 5 minutes it says "Root failed, do you wish to re-rerun the exploid? y/n press enter.

    tried multiple times.


    my phone also now has this "Superuser permissions" app, but it is a blank screen when i open it.
     

    Advertisement
  2. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    Are you on froyo because exploid doesnt work on froyo
     
  3. Trauma

    Trauma Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    35
    o... yes i am on froyo. how do i go about this then? Do i need to revert to 2.1 first to root at all?
     
  4. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
  5. Trauma

    Trauma Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    35
    Ok so i did the one touch one, i got to the end where it says "Congradulations your phone is now rooted"

    i am able to use wireless tether now, but how do i uninstall bloatware?
     
  6. labeledbass

    labeledbass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    26
    1. Yes
    2. No, but close - be careful though

    Superuser didn't have anything with assigned permissions, that's why it was blank at first - I too saw this the first time rooting, with a pushed su app. Seems the app must a pushed over but the root didn't take.

    After reading, I didn't answer your question - you can "blacklist" apps with Droid Wall, that will kill any data traveling to and from the selected app. You can "freeze" an app with a another paid version of, I can't remember which (someone here can tell you faster than I can search, although I will) and there is also another method "I think" of renaming the suffix of the app so it doesn't load, that last one I could be completely wrong about.

    Honestly, so I don't loose an app that could be problematic with a restore I just blacklist an app, and then hide it with laucher pro. That's probably the safest route, but by no means will remove or keep it from loading into memory.

    EDIT: TITANIUM BACKUP FREEZES THE APPS BTW
     
  7. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    easiest way to uninstall bloatware in my opinion is titanium backup. Just go to the backup/restore tab in titanium then press any app and one of the options is uninstall. Just be careful with what you remove.
     
  8. Trauma

    Trauma Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    35
    i only want to remove nonsense like blockbuster/amazon/3g hotspot/vz nav.


    It is safe to remove these yes?


    What would be the benefit of installing a rom? Is there a how to somewhere?
     
  9. labeledbass

    labeledbass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    26
    I've heard, that removing certain apps will corrupt a restore, since the apps were in the original build and now there not. I don't know which apps are sensitive like that though, it does state in the Root section of the X forum.

    I'm not sure you can install a full fledged ROM yet, but there is a few themes floating around in Everything Root - I'm running a Nex theme, I think its one of the older ones but its nice. Depends on the theme/ROM but things will change, look a little different and if managed correctly the phone will run faster all in all. Most of them aren't that hard of a install, simple restore with clockwork, extract a zip and execute - look at the thread that contains the theme, read about it and then choose - directions will also be included.

    Just don't jump head first until reading about what you are about to do - I held back until I read everything I possibly could about what I was about to do unless the unfortunate happened, so far - no bricks :)
     
  10. Trauma

    Trauma Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    35
    ok cool, if anything ever should happen or if i need to send the phone back to verizon, i can always put it all back to new with RSD light right?
     
  11. labeledbass

    labeledbass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    26
    Now that is something I have yet to do, if you have 2.1 or any of the leaks its no problem - that I have done, but if you have the OTA 2.3.15 its original sbf will be needed. There is instructions and the proper files, some people have them and there may still be download sites available. But again I'm not absolutely positive that it can be done per personal experience, I have read success stories else where though.

    Again just be careful and patient, read everything you can about what needs to be on your phone before reverting - and as you can see the #1 thread, do NOT use the 2.1 sbf to revert a OTA 2.2(2.3.15) system.
     

Share This Page

Loading...