Root Your Magic...


Last Updated:

  1. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78
    OK, Seems that there has been alot of confusion so I'm editing this and just going to add the "how to" below if this isnt' good enough you can check another source with an alternate method here Magic Rooting - AndroidWiki

    Ok going to make it easier on everyone hope this helps a bit...

    You will need USB debugging on the device turned on... You will also need ADB, and fastboot if you don't have ADB you will need the SDK and can get it here: Android SDK if you do not have fastboot you can get it here: HTC Downloads
    Next Download Haykuro's Magic rootme and Recovery...
    Now that you have all the required stuff connect your phone to your pc and open cmd(windows) or terminal(linux) go to your SDK folder then sub directory tools.
    Once in the tools directory you will want to copy all the files you have just downloaded into that directory...

    When that is done we can start the process....

    From CMD or Terminal (still in the sdk tools directory) type the following:

    (win) adb devices
    (linux) ./adb devices

    You should see your Android phone's serial listed at this point. If you get nothing in the list, you need to check your USB driver. (In linux try sudo ./adb kill-server then again type ./adb devices, this will reset the connection and adb)
    Now unzip the recovery-new.img.zip file. Put both the recovery and rootme files in your "tools" directory. Make sure your phone is connected with the USB cable, pull down the notification bar, select mount the SD card. Rename rootme-signed.zip to update.zip and copy both the newly named update.zip and the recovery-new.img to the phone's SD card. Once this is complete go back to the notifications bar and unmount the phone.

    Now we need to get to the bootloader, first power off the device... Now depending on which version of the Magic you have, this might differ so try these:
    Turn on the device holding down back button and power(end call) button

    • if this didn't work try this one
    Turn on the device holding down the volume down and power(end call) button

    Once you're in there you will need to run this command:

    (win) fastboot boot recovery-new.img
    (linux) ./fastboot boot recovery-new.img

    Once you see the recovery screen on the phone you will need to apply your update.zip by hitting (ALT+S) let it complete the process...
    When the install has completed, reboot by hitting HOME+BACK, It is VERY important to allow it to boot fully. (it can take some time)

    Once booted go back to your computer, from CMD or Terminal type the following command :

    (win) adb shell flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-new.img
    (Linux) ./adb shell flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-new.img

    To be able to run and apply nandroid backups download either Engineering Bootloader or Haykuro's SPL
    Once you have selected and downloaded either the Engineering Bootloader or Haykuro's modded SPL go to the notification bar and mount your phone again... Rename this file to update.zip as you did previously copy to your sd card...

    Now to install

    Power on your phone holding HOME+POWER to get into recovery mode.
    Apply the update (ALT+S) again wait for the process to complete, upon completion hit HOME+BACK buttons on the phone to reboot..


    Now that you have everything setup it's time to actually get root you will need to download one more thing....
    First you will need the SU (Super User)

    Now from your computer go to either Terminal or CMD (make sure your phone is still connected) and type the following commands:

    (win) adb push su /data/local
    (linux)./adb push su /data/local

    This will push the new SU to your phone...

    Next, again from Terminal or CMD type

    (win) adb shell
    (linux) ./adb shell

    Next from your ADB shell type

    SU

    you should see the text change from $ to # if you have done this correctly so far...

    Next from the # type

    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    cd /system/xbin
    mv su osu
    cat /data/local/su > su
    chmod 6755 su

    Now to make sure you've done it right type

    ls -l *su
    if you see this ( -rwsr-sr-x root ) that means it worked...

    Finally type
    sync
    reboot

    Wait until your phone finishes booting and now you're Fully rooted and ready....


    Enjoy!
     

    Advertisement
  2. bungdung91

    bungdung91 Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is excellent news. As a G1 user, i think the obvious question is -

    Instead of the long winded rooting method currently for the G1, can this be used to root the G1 and quickly apply any of the latest 1.5 firmware variations out there today?

    Thanks much!
     
  3. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78

    No it cant but all I have to say about it right now is don't worry it's coming to the G1....
     
  4. moa

    moa New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Can someone answer a few questions for me please?

    My understanding of this is that it basically allows you to upload custom firmware to the device. Currently the magic has 1.5 on which is the latest version.

    1. So what else are people putting on? What does this allow you to do that the current shipped version doesn't?

    2. How dangerous a process is this? What are the chances or killing the device so it's an unusable brick? If something goes wrong, can it always be reset?

    3. I have a uk vodafone magic. If I root it, can i revert back to the standard vodafone image if I have issues?

    4. On the official android side there is a release video for cupcake on the magic;
    Android | Official Website
    This shows voice search in action. The UK build does not have this nor voice dialling. If I put a rooted image on will it support this?
     
  5. dustoff

    dustoff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. There are custom versions of 1.5 for the Magic. One of the big pluses, is that will enable you to install applications to the SD Card, rather than the ROM. Additionally, it will remove the Vodafone branding.

    2. Custom Magic firmware is as yet untested, and it is possible you may brick your phone.

    3. If you have, or can find a copy of the vodafone image, then yes, you'll be able to revert to it.

    4. If you get a firmware that supports voice dialling, then yes. I have no idea why the UK Vodafone version doesn't include voice dialling - seems a bit of an oversight to me!

    To sum up, if you're not confident performing the operation yourself, it's probably best not to - in the same way most people won't change the timing belt in their car!
     
  6. hah2110

    hah2110 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    This doesn't work for Rogers, right?
     
  7. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78

    I can not say as I don't have a Canadian phone to test but if someone wants to send me one i'd be happy to test any build you want! [​IMG]
     
  8. Nima

    Nima New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,


    We have bought new HTC Magic with the following specifications:
    1.Firmware version- 1.5
    2.Baseband Version - 62.52s.20.18U_3.22.20.17
    3.Kernel Version- 2.6.27-cb85e129 htc-kernel@and18-2 #3
    4.Build number-2.16.720.2 146733 CL#38755 release-keys


    We have followed the instructions in link:
    http://android-dls.com/wiki/index.php?title=Magic_Rooting


    but the following error is reported
    downloading 'boot.img'... FAILED (remote: not allow)

    When we execute the command

    fastboot boot boot-new.img

    Please help us in this regard.

    Thanks in advance
     
  9. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    I got your PM but,
    Glad to see you posted here in open forum so others may help as well..

    First i dont have a Magic and so never used this process... but first when you phone is connected to the PC ... GO to the SDK/tools directory where your adb & fastboot
    and copied image, and update should be located ....

    NOTE : If you are using the ADB and FASTBOOT programs ... You DO NOT want to mount the SD drive because the pc and phone will be connected via the Windows drivers ...

    You need to run the progams from the CMD window of the PC ...
    Windows Start | RUN | type CMD ... this opens the CMD window ...

    Change you directory to the c:\sdk\..\tools
    Now you can issue the ADB commands >>> first ADB devices

    DID you see your phone's Serial number when you issue the command ADB devices? ... when you issue this command you should be in the sdk/tools directory ... if you run any of the programs in the tools directory and you are not in the tools directory ... the environment path will have to set to include the .../tools directory for any commands to work ...

    do this and let us know if you get as far as get the ADB devices command to return the phone's serial number
     
  10. Nima

    Nima New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    We are able to get the seriet number of the phone when we execute the command "adb devices".


    but the following error "downloading 'boot.img'... FAILED (remote: not allow)" is reported when we execute the command
    fastboot boot recovery-RAv1.0H.img.

    Whether any locking is there in the device
    Please advice.

    Thanks &Regards
     
  11. xiutian

    xiutian Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Will doing this wipe out all data from the Magic and SD card?
     
  12. lordmrdk

    lordmrdk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0

    The boot info:
    SAPPHIRE PVT 32B SHIP S-ON G
    HBOOT-1.33.0004 (SAPP10000)
    CPLD-10
    RADIO-2.22.19.26I
    Apr 9 2009,23:30:40

    What I receive trying to boot:
    c:\Users\Desktop>fastboot boot recovery-new.img
    creating boot image...
    creating boot image - 38436864 bytes
    downloading 'boot.img'... OKAY
    booting... FAILED (remote: reproduce boot image with on-flash ramdisk error)

    I'm using windows 7 64bit, the usb drivers are installed o.k.
    the adb devices show:

    List of devices attached
    HT94TKF20141 device

    right now I'm on the default os cause couldn't hack it.
    It is really upseting because I need Hebrew and there is no way to enable hebrew for reading or writing on the HTC Magic without breaking it down and get root access :(

    The details of my vodafone magic are:
    firmware version 1.5
    baseband version: 162.50s.20.17z_2.22.19.26M
    Kernel version: 2.6.27-00393-g6607056 san@sandroid #1
    the build number is: CRB43

    If any of you guys can help me out here, I really need this root access.

    + I program in Java, and I thought about developing some apps, I'm on the API for the last month, progressing.
    I though about getting this HTC to test stuff I wrote, but, without hacking it, I can only see my apps running on the emulator (no real life testings).
    Thinking about it... why is it so hard to buy hardware like the HTC magic and not be able to run any supported os you want/need!? :confused: (rhetorical, you don't have to answer that :))
     
  13. leiko49

    leiko49 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do not yet have the Magic, but have a question about rooting process. we are referred first to

    Magic Rooting - Android Wiki

    Then there is a link for the required "fastboot".

    Going to said link

    HTC - Support - Flashing your Android Dev Phone with a Factory System Image

    it states:

    Attention!

    This update applies to the Android Dev Phone for developers only. The Android Dev Phone with its unique color and pattern can be seen here. This update will not work on the T-Mobile G1 or any other Android powered phone.

    However, it the thread it states these are directions for the non dev phone t-mobile magic.

    I would like someone to resolve this contradiction between the directions of the thread to root the non dev phone Magic and the reference on the htc site stating it only applies to the Android dev phone.

    Thanks!
     
  14. althasaur

    althasaur New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not having much luck with my magic at the moment.

    cmd prompt says

    " c:\Androidsdk>fastbook boot recovery-new.img
    downloading 'boot.img'... OKAY
    booting... OKAY

    c:\Androidsdk>"

    but my phone is hanging at the htc magic screen after rebooting.
    I see no recovery screen or spot to press ALT + S
    :(
    ok tried this http://android-dls.com/wiki/index.php?title=Magic_Rooting
    Rooting the Magic/Sapphire (Method 2)

    If you have Asian Version of Magic, do not use this method cause it disables wi-fi.
    Copy this update to your SD-card.
    Download the rooted recovery image here.
    Enable USB debugging on the device
    Settings -> Applications -> Development -> USB Debugging
    Boot the device in fastboot mode.
    adb shell reboot bootloader
    Connect the device to your machine over USB.
    Type the following command on your desktop (not on the device):
    fastboot boot recovery-RAv1.0H.img
    Choose option "Apply sdcard:update.zip" from the menu on the device
    note: you may need to unplug the usb if you receive any errors


    and it got me through to the green screen, had to have 3 goes to get the update.zip to work properly. but it booted up to a higher level

    wohoo.. works again.. pheww resetting it up now..
    do not know how "rooted": the phone is though

    unable to start wifi :(
     
  15. LK81

    LK81 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    when i
     
  16. aidan257

    aidan257 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    2
    is this a step by step guide and will this allow me to have a totally clean install of Android? Is this the sort of thing i could do if i somehow corrupted Android on the phone?
     
  17. fuddbutter

    fuddbutter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Has anyone got new links for the Haykuro's Magic "rootme" rom that now dont work??

    i have tried the other way of rooting my magic, but it gets to the point of loading the recovery image and just comes up saying that it's failed.
     
  18. vikingisson

    vikingisson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    24
    I think it does. I did mine last week using the "one click method" but looks a lot like these instructions. I ran a few days with just root so I could run a few root only apps. I've now put on the "Hofo" Rom and all is well once I got past the chinese junk and put the keyboard back to something familiar.
     
  19. Koiboyjapan`

    Koiboyjapan` Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone know if this all works on NTT Docomo HT-03A (HTC Magic/G2)?
     
  20. iWannaBeAdored

    iWannaBeAdored Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey the links dont work for ' Haykuro's Magic rootme ' and 'Recovery'?
     
  21. emale1975

    emale1975 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
  22. abdussalam

    abdussalam New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  23. panesingh

    panesingh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    So does this method and the one click method work on a Htc Magic with the perfected SPL? To help those that don't have a gold card?
     
  24. GreatBigDog

    GreatBigDog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    46
    Nope, With the E911 update on the Rogers Magic/Magic+ you can't get past the fastboot boot recovery-new.img cmd as the SPL is locked down to not allow booting of custom recovery. The only way to break the perfected SPL on these phones is to run a newer RUU than the E911 one that Rogers forced on it's customers.

    You can try my proven to work guide here or my new shorter guide here

    There are other guides out there that will also get you rooted using a newer SPL but you have to be careful what Radio you end up on. Rogers scans their system looking for Dream/Magics that don't have a specific couple of Radio's.
     
  25. Jack155Q4

    Jack155Q4 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page

Loading...