Rooted Hero no data connection after reboot


Last Updated:

  1. StyxCoverBnd

    StyxCoverBnd Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I originally posted this in the CM 6 thread, but after doing a nandroid restore and also flashing to Fresh 2.4 I'm still having this issue. I rebooted my phone this morning (was running CM6 6.1.0 RC1) and ever since the reboot I can not connect to any google services and the data connection when connecting to webpages is hit or miss. When I try to connect to my google account on the initial setup for CM6 and for Fresh 2.4 I get the error: 'cant establish a reliable data connectino to the server'. I have good to great signal strength yet terrible connection. Has anyone seen this before or have any ideas on how to fix it? Would updating my radio help?


    Edit: after doing some googling someone suggested updating my profile through the system settings. Can I do that with a rooted phone or do I have to flash back to an official update?
     

    Advertisement
  2. pond725

    pond725 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    7
    i also had a similar issue. tried to install a new nightly,but when i went to sign in my google account it couldn't get connection. took forever to get into gtalk. thought it was the nightly. nandroided back to working rom
     
  3. StyxCoverBnd

    StyxCoverBnd Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried to nandroid back to a working rom and still can't connect. I updated my profile and URL and data seems to be ok, but when I try to connect to my google account I get the same error about an unreliable data connection. Anyone have an ideas? If not I'll probably try going back to one of the official updates when I get back from the gym and see how that goes
     
  4. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    I have the Nov 7th Nightly - No Issues -
    I am hearing Rumors of a GOOGLE problem with their data and the market
    (happened last week too)
    I would say - be patient and try a few times -
     
  5. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    You can update profile on any sense rom, so since you have fresh 2.4.0 update your profile there. Also update prl if it isn't up to date.

    EDIT: I see you already did this!!
     
  6. StyxCoverBnd

    StyxCoverBnd Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I think I found the answer to this (found it at XDA dev forums at this post ) The fix doesn't make any sense, but my google account is syncing and it seems to be working. Anyways I flashed back to the stock 2.1 rom to be safe and to fix this error you have to open the youtube app, click on the 'menu' button and then click account and sign in with your google account. After that from the home page you have to click 'Menu' then 'Settings' then 'Accounts and Sync' then Google account and make sure all aspects for the google account are check to auto sync. For what reason this fixes the problem.
     
  7. StyxCoverBnd

    StyxCoverBnd Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I spoke too soon, this morning I couldn't connect to any Google related apps/services. If anyone has any suggestions/ideas I'm all ears
     
  8. wilcox99

    wilcox99 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    Happened to me when I first activated my phone. Didn't even notice that the data connection wasn't there at first becuase I had wifi connected. Rooted the phone and then eventually noticed there was no data connection...the "update profile" menu was not available in my rooted phone with CM6, so I had to flash back to the stock 2.1 ROM - then I updated profile (which worked, the update took about 20 seconds and then I had data connection immediately after). Then went back and re-flashed my CM6 ROM. Kind of a pain-in-a$$.

    Do a backup before you do all this obviously...if you do it.
     
  9. swapped

    swapped Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    i am in the same boat... well similar. I installed liquidsense rom (coming from cm6) and the market would sometimes download, sometimes not. Worked perfecly on wifi. I ran it like this until this morning when i decided to wipe all partitions as suggested in a thread and then install the rom from scrath. When it booted i could not log into my google account (like data wasn't there) or goto google. but i can goto yahoo no problem.... how do i fix this. tired nfx's stock rooted rom also - no go....

    Also, tried profile and prl update... no go
     
  10. StyxCoverBnd

    StyxCoverBnd Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I flashed back to the stock rom and called Sprint. They walked me through some troubleshooting stuff and they told me they will just replace the Hero, so no definitive answer/fix on why this is happening.
     
  11. swapped

    swapped Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK - here is the fix that worked for me.

    Ran RUU to .6
    tried to sign in - no go.
    called sprint
    here is the procedure they had me do and it worked:

    phone dial pad: enter ##3282#
    you will get a menu that says EPST, select Edit Mode
    you will be probpted for you password (this is the MLS for your phone, if you are rooted there are apps that can get it for you, else call sprint they can give it to you etc etc.... or search how to get it)
    enter your mls
    click Data Profile, Menu, Restore

    phone will reboot. After phone reboots, goto settings, about phone, .... and do a profile update.

    All should now work!
     
    StyxCoverBnd likes this.
  12. StyxCoverBnd

    StyxCoverBnd Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Glad it worked for you. They had me do that as well and it atleast allowed me to log in with my google account but after that I still couldn't access the market or gmail.
     
  13. pond725

    pond725 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    7
    didn't touch a thing since last night. this afternoon gmail started working also market back up. must have been a goggle issue
     
  14. MarkHirt

    MarkHirt Guest

    Sprint had some 3G issues today, effecting a lot of the country
     
  15. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    It is a Google issue -
    They have been having them all week -

    Patience is key
     
  16. swapped

    swapped Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    it definatly seemed like a google issue, however i have about 5 friends i work with that have andoird phones on att and verizon and i was the only one having zero luck siging into google. The second i was done with the procedure i posted above, it worked perfect. Coincidence???
     
  17. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    I've had no trouble here in Ohio :confused:
     
  18. StyxCoverBnd

    StyxCoverBnd Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I let my phone sit over night and was just able to log into my google account and access everything. Like posted above it must have been a google issue. Since I switched back I'll probably just run the stock 2.1 rom for while. Thanks for the assistance guys!
     

Share This Page

Loading...