Rooting samsung galaxy s4 please help

1. Amylee3130

Amylee3130 Well-Known Member

Hi

im wanting to root my s4 im on

model I9505
    XXUBMGA

i want to make sure i use the right one and is there a way i can do it without using kies and also i used philz on my s3 is there the same for s4 as i found this very useful.

thanks in advance x

Advertisement
  2. jhawkkw

jhawkkw Chinchillin' Moderator

Moved to the International Galaxy S4 Root forum.
  3. ironass

ironass Well-Known Member

Hi Amylee3130!

Look no further than the sticky at the top of this forum, entitled, http://androidforums.com/internatio...t/732797-rooting-galaxy-s4-dummies-guide.html

The first 4 posts are a step-by-step guide, with pictures and videos, for absolute beginners to Android, rooting and the Samsung Galaxy S4.

Please take the time to read through it, carefully and thoroughly, as it will answer most, if not all, of your questions.

The guide uses Odin and does include full instructions for installing PhilZ Recovery.

Grab a coffee, or something stronger, and away you go!
  4. Amylee3130

the link isnt working :( x
  5. ironass

6. Hawker

Hawker Well-Known Member

That's because our resident octogenarian is a whiz at everything Android, but seeing him on a computer is about as natural as seeing an ashtray on a motorbike.

Rooting Galaxy S4 - Dummies Guide

(it's the sticky on the top of this All Things Root forum)

Edit:
    Ninja'd
    :car:
  7. Amylee3130

ive rooted my phone and install philz but when i try to open the rom manager my phone isnt on the list? have i done something wrong x
  8. ironass

Touch > Recovery Setup > Install or update recovery > Go to the bottom of the list... Device not listed above > Press Yes at the i9505 prompt.

That's the 2nd time today! Not too shabby for an octogenarian. ;)
  9. Amylee3130

it warns me not to do that will it be ok? x
  10. Amylee3130

well in the rom manager? is that right..it wont boot into recover and bring philz up? x
  11. Hawker