Samsung Moment (not rooted 2.1) Boot LoopSupport


Last Updated:

  1. NYdroid33

    NYdroid33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    1
    My samsung moment (NOT rooted with 2.1) gets stuck in a boot loop when I restart it. After about 10 mins the lock screen comes up and if I unlock it quick enough the phone runs fine but if I dont unlock it within a certain period of time it will just go back into booting up and go back to showing the samsung logo.

    The phone has been running very sluggish since Ive been experiencing this and Im about to do a factory data reset but I dont feel like reloading all my apps and redoing all my settings.

    Does anyone know of a way to fix this without resetting the whole phone? anyone else experiencing the same thing? any help would be appreciated. Im about to get a blackberry, I love the android when it works but it just seems the slightest adjustment to the phone sends the whole thing haywire. Living with this aggrevation is becoming not worth it.
     

    Advertisement
  2. kahale

    kahale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    11
    by any chance do you have a home replacement launcher installed and a custom theme? try unistalling the theme and and launcher and see if it goes away. if no launcher and nothing seems to work then i think you have no choice but to do a factory reset. sorry. back up your apps with astro file manager from market and sync your google apps before you reset. gl!
     
  3. pastafarian

    pastafarian P√Ętes avec votre foie Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    4,625
    Bite the bullet and do a factory reset. The first time you open the market, all your apps will be listed in the downloads section, making reloading them easy. Don't close the market or even change screen orientation, or they'll be gone.

    I'm constantly having to deal with my coworkers blackberry's which have pitiful memory amounts and memory management. I hate the little screen, awful browser and little keyboard. This is easy?
     
  4. remery124

    remery124 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Moment just started doing this, this morning..
    I have drained 2 batteries this morning trying to get my phone to restart..
    it just sits there on the "SAMSUNG" screen...

    No MODS, No Root, No Flash....can't get to the main menu to do factory reset...now what?
     
  5. kahale

    kahale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    11
    flash stock 2.1 with sprints update tool. you can download it from their site. you need a pc and usb cable to flash. follow the instructions on the site.
     
  6. remery124

    remery124 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I DL's the SamsungSimpleDL_lite, but the rest of Sprints instructions assume my phone is operating properly and I can get to the main menu...

    If you meant for me to follow the directions on Sprints site, I can't even get to the main menu on my moment, still stuck on SAMSUNG screen...And I don't see anything about FLASHING, can you please point me in the right direction? this is all new to me...thanks
     
  7. remery124

    remery124 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok...disregard...I think I got it...
    I didn't understand that the "Flash" instructions were in the Tool I DL from SPrint..
    and I didn't realize that you can get to DOWNLOAD MODE on your phone without having to start it...so now it says Update Completed! and is rebooting...lets see it I get main menu or not...
     
  8. remery124

    remery124 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    OMG!!! I have a phone again!!!
    Thank you Kahale, and thanku AndroidForums!!
    I really thought I was hosed!!

    this is great...got some apps I need to re-DL now..but waaay cool!

    Besides making my phone work again, what does this "Flashing" do?
    make 2.1 run better, battery last longer etc...??
     
  9. kahale

    kahale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    11
    glad it all worked out for you. flashing it only puts stock 2.1 android on the phone. you won't notice any difference unless you had a older version of android on it like 1.5 etc.
     
  10. The DevilsPimp

    The DevilsPimp Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have been on the phone with Sprint for the past 90 minutes trying to solve the problem. The very nice rep and I ended up doing a manual factory reset instead of the normal ##...# one. To do it, follow these steps:

    1. Take out the battery and then replace it.
    2. Hold the DOWN volume button, SEND, and END buttons simultaneously. This will bring up the manual system recovery screen.
    3. Scroll down to WIPE DATA/FACTORY REST and press ok.
    4. Next, select REBOOT SYSTEM NOW.

    This will return the phone to the factory settings and HOPEFULLY I will not experience the looping anymore. Try it and let us know how it works.
     
  11. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    You guys should have trying clearing the Dalvik cache first
     
  12. The DevilsPimp

    The DevilsPimp Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Never heard of it. How do you do it?
     
  13. kahale

    kahale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    11
    i know you can do it in custom recovery. not sure how you would do it on stock.
     
  14. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367

Share This Page

Loading...