Screen Brightness is there an easy way?


Last Updated:

  1. nuttsp

    nuttsp Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am very anal about the brightness setting. I keep the setting very low to save battery. While indoors this is almost never a problem but when I go outside I can't see the screen. This makes it very hard to change the brightness. How do other people solve this or am I the only one that has this problem? Does anyone know of a way to map a button (like home button) and change the operation of the long press?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    there is a built in widget - Power Management - that allows you to, with the press of a widget button, adjust brightness for 3 settings quick. It can also turn on/off BT, GPS, WiFi, Sync all in 1 cool easy strip. I use it all the time to control brightness and power hungry settings.

    you could also search the Market and see if there is even a stand alone widget that only does that
     
  3. CyberPitz

    CyberPitz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    42
    Beautiful Widget has it's own Brightness, GPS, Wifi, etc widgets to use. They are quite handy
     
  4. BlueIce5249

    BlueIce5249 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    48
    There are more than a few brightness widgets in the market place.
     
  5. sublimnl

    sublimnl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    check out brighterrific, which is pretty nice. or if you want a widget that can handle a LOT more then switchpro widget is freakin awesome. i am using it now to control brightness, ringer modes, bt, gps, wifi, led flashlight, and battery meter. it has several other options as well. HIGHLY recommend it.

    edit: SwitchPro widget pictured at the top here - http://i45.tinypic.com/157kfie.jpg. It also has options for widget backgrounds if thats your thing.
     
  6. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    kinda like the stock Power Management widget on steroids

    BUT it costs. and for cost, I would expect to be able to reorder, remove those not of interest, and have the GPS actually not just take you to the Settings area, but turn GPS on/off like the stock one does
     
  7. sublimnl

    sublimnl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ummm, it does ALL of that, its totally customizable. you did a whole lot of assuming there, man. :rolleyes:

    UPDATE: Most recent version has a proper GPS toggle!
     
  8. Polymira

    Polymira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    4
    Auto brightness =)
     
  9. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    wrong. you assumed I assumed, but I assumed nothing, I read a selection of the comments - they made the pitfalls clear so I did not buy.

    BTW, I see no "Tasker" in the market?
     
  10. clintiepoo

    clintiepoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    7
    I love quick settings.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. sublimnl

    sublimnl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    Don't know what that's all about. I can do all of the things you claim are not possible. Besides...its a buck we are talking about i think? Buy and return if you dont like. Its the best widget of its kind IMO.

    I think tasker is something I got off the web. Will post a link.
     
  12. sublimnl

    sublimnl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
  13. CarControl

    CarControl Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Download Button Shortcut and Backlight! from the market. You can bind Backlight! to the camera button or a long-press of the search button and toggle the screen brightness this way. I found this useful because sometimes you can't see the screen well enough to hit a widget.
     
  14. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    like I said, I was reporting what others clearly wrote in the ranking section, so I did not buy it.

    but anyway.... thanks for the tasker link, I also like Timeriffic
     
  15. smguy101

    smguy101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    9
    The default Auto Brightness setting hasnt let me down yet. It Automatically adjusts your screen to the environment.
     
  16. Psychokitty

    Psychokitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    64
    ...Another vote for Quick Settings.
     
  17. nuttsp

    nuttsp Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the feedback. I have tried several things that were suggested. I am going to look at Tasker and Timeriffic.
     
  18. milrtime83

    milrtime83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    74
    Quick settings has been mentioned a couple times already but with no explanations.

    I like it because you can set it as the default when you long press on the search button so you don't have to go back to the home screen to get to it. I don't use voice search much at all which is what the long press on the search button normally brings up so it works great for me.
     
    nuttsp likes this.
  19. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    I dont think these will be as useful. they are more about creating profiles or having the phone do something based on time. it is hard for the phone to know you stepped into bright daylight, so that is why I like the Power Management as that is just 1 press bright, 2 press max bright, 3 press dim right from home screen.

    I use Timeriffic to do things like turn off BT at night and restart in the am, turn off ringer at certain times when at church, etc. events based on time of day.
     
  20. nuttsp

    nuttsp Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just tried Tasker and got my camera button to turn on the brightness 100%. This is exactly what I wanted.
     
  21. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    seems like a lot of work, and big app, to just do that 1 thing as compared to a simple widget? both require the phone to be on, but with Tasker you click up the camera button and brightness goes up. Well, a widget the phone still needs to be on and you just tap it to increase brightness. Point is, unless you plan to use Tasker for more then just adjusting brightness, as it is way more powerful than that, it seems like overkill as a widget can do same thing in a much smaller package and app size.

    but anyway, hey, if it works for you.. nice
     
  22. craighwk

    craighwk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    21
    The built in power strip widget does all I need. :)
     
  23. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    that is my fav also.. does it all for me, all the key items in 1 strip
     
  24. BlueIce5249

    BlueIce5249 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    48
    I wish you could set what was on it. i.e. Take out bluetooth and add in vibrate/silent/loud option.

    What is good though, in Froyo the brightness in the power setting widget can set it to Auto.
     
  25. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    check out brighterrific mentioned by sublimnl above.. he claims you can set some of these things. but it is a cost app.
     

Share This Page

Loading...