• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Apps Some info to get me started

gezh

Jul 12, 2009
Hi all.

I'm a java developer of almost 10 years, and have decided to start learning Android development. I just have a couple of really basic questions to help point me in the best direction before I take the plunge.

1) I understand from my initial reading that Android is dependent on Linux. In what way? If a device comes with the Android OS, is that a version of Linux, or does it contain a Linux like kernel?

2) What development environment should I use? I was going to use Linux as I enjoy it, although I see that there is a download for Windows too. In that case, is it really dependent on Linux?!

3) I'm going to get a new phone soon. If I get a phone which uses the Android OS, and then I do some development and build an application, will I be able to load my apps onto the phone for my own use? Or will it depend on the contract provider?

Hope this all makes sense, thanks for reading.

1. Android is a version of Linux; much like Ubuntu, Fedora etc...

2. You'll want to use the Android SDK available from Google. Android 1.5 SDK, Release 2 | Android Developers So, in short, the SDK is not dependent on Linux, just the OS itself.

3. You are able to install any apk you wish to your phone, as long as you enable Settings > Applications > Unknown Sources, from your phone, to allow said apks to be installed from the SD card.

Upvote 0
I'll just come out and say it. I'm not an Android dev; the most knowledge I have in programming is a few VB classes back in high school. The information I'm giving you is what I've picked up listening in on AF's devs in the IRC chat room.