• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Some questions about rooting

silentus

Lurker
Mar 19, 2013
Hi all,
I want to root my HTC desire A8181 (bravo) with Android 2.2.2 and bootloader 0.93, andc when checking the hboot it was also saying something like PVT1 S-ON, but I can't check it now (I'm writing from that phone :D) I'm very scared of bricking it because I have never done it before and the tutorials are pretty old and some descriptions are unclear or the links are down.
I'm not some complete newbie in these things because I'm interested in PCs (programming in few languages but I'm not some master in any of them because I'm learning by myself without any books, I've built my pc by myself and I upgrade it by myself)

I wanna ask if someone could give me a link with a tutorial for rooting that will work for my phone, its not branded I think, and its GSM. I know there's a lot of threads like this, but most of them are unclear (like, it says that its only under Android 2.2, so my 2.2.2 will work or not ?)

I want to root because of the shit internal memory and the fact that now the apps are downloaded to it and I can't download some apps bigger than about 20mb because I simply don't have that much internal storage (I have a 8 gb sdcard though) and also I want to have control about some shitty apps that I don't use and they start automatically and waste my ram, I heard I can permanently kill them if I root.
Thanks in advance guys :)

The guide to rooting using revolutionary should do the trick. There's a link in the Desire All Things Root Guide sticky post in this thread.

As always Hadron is quite correct. The guide he refers to will lead you through the S-Off & rooting process.