Sprint 3g bands work on boost mobile?


Last Updated:

  1. oOflyeyesoOo

    oOflyeyesoOo Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    I asked this in the lounge, but no one seemed to even attempt to reply. I am just wondering, since sprint owns boost mobile, then they would be the same bands for 3g even. The main thing I am wondering, is what cell phone companies use the same bands as the pay as you go/no contract companies like boost and cricket, or any other company. Is there anyone who could give me some more detailed infomation on the bands for all of the US cell phone companies so I can compare.

    The main reason im wondering is.. So that I can buy lets say a unlocked EVO and use it on boost, hoping that the bands would work for 3g. Not so worried about 4g as it wont be in my city for quite some time.

    But I am also wondering what biig companies use the same 3g bands as cricket, they are a VERY popular and VERY cheap company that runs strong, but has shitty phones. I would think they would have the same 3g bands as at&t, but im not sure about that.

    Someone please help me out with info on all these companies, Im either going to get a nexus one or desire(if I can get it unlocked on boost or cricket). But id love the EVO much much more. Maaybe the S1 though, inda sexy.

    Someone with actual knowledge answer!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Covert_Death

    Covert_Death Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    665
    yea the bands are the same but CDMA doesn't really have "unlocked" phones, you won't be able to get an evo on boost no matter how hard you tried.

    sprint will not unlock a phone for you no matter what and cricket/ boost/ verizon/ sprint whoever will not put a phone on their network that is not made for them
     
  3. oOflyeyesoOo

    oOflyeyesoOo Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well that is disappointing :'(

    I would figure it could be hacked or something. And all they would ask for was some sort of code directing it to the phone. Not sure how CDMA works though, I have only been on At&t bands.
     
  4. ChrisPlague

    ChrisPlague Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    1
    yeah sprint works off of ESNs instead of a sim and each ESN is in sprints system so i mean there really isnt an "unlocked" cdma phone
     
  5. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Wow completely and utterly wrong answers. Boost runs off of nextels iDen network, completely different than cdma. I repeat, Sprint and Nextel have TWO SEPARATE NETWORKS, EVEN THOUGH THEY ARE THE SAME COMPANY. CDMA phones can be used on other networks, but carriers generally choose not to. Cricket has extremely bad service. Don't even bother with them.
     
  6. Covert_Death

    Covert_Death Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    665
    yes in theory they can work on other networks but his question was can he get the EVO on another network... the answer is noooooo wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
     
  7. xbrokdikdogx

    xbrokdikdogx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    45
    Not to nitpick, but Boost also has CDMA service that runs on the Sprint network. The local Best Buy in Mesa has some of these phones left, including the BB. Boost is no longer going to actively promote this however so if you want to use the Sprint network on Boost you really need to get one of the phones soon. Also, once you own and activate one of these Boost CDMA phones you can change the phone to certain Sprint phones, a google search will provide you a list of the phones that work, however I am pretty sure none of the Android phones can be activated.

    As for Cricket, many of the Sprint phones will work on them, but they need to be flashed with a Cricket ROM first. While driving by some of the Cricket stores I have seen signs that they will flash the phones for you. Also, on craigslist there is no shortage of people who will flash them and who have phones already flashed. Cricket isn't the best for sure, but I believe they use the Sprint network, so if you are in a Cricket area and have no need to leave the local metro area where they offer coverage they aren't a bad alternative.
     
  8. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    As for cricket. their call priority is crap. so forget making or recieving a call during peak hours. and even with cricket roms. data most of the time wont work properly.
     
  9. johnnyboy14981

    johnnyboy14981 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    First off by bashing cricket ur bashing boost! Cricket uses the sprint towers. Do some research the contract was signed months ago. Crickets data is far superior then boost and as far as I know boost doesn't offer a mobile hotspot. This coming from someone who has both used flashed and sold boost handset and cricket. Its a CELL network some places cricket is better then boost and vice versa. This is a fact. As for the evo if the touch pro 2 can be flashed to work w boost I don't c y the evo can't. Just a matter of figuring out how to modify the settings. Not trying to step on anyones toes but verified both personaly and speaking fro factt not speculation. Btw this is being posted from my flashed droid 2 on cricket using mobile hotspot averaging about 3Mbps. Try that on boost...lol
     
  10. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,606
    Likes Received:
    3,222
    i dont know where you are. I will answer this based on what is around me.

    Here we have MetroPCS.
    EVO can be unlocked and put on this network.

    Htc Evo 4g $300

    you need to find similar services in your area.

    NOTE: these phones are normally have bad ESN.... make your own assumptions.
     
  11. JeffinCA

    JeffinCA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    8
    I'm wondering what has changed since last year. I have Boost Mobile's Pay As You Go plan (PAYG, for simplicity) and an i870. I want to get a good Android phone to replace my aging PDA (a Dell Axim X51v) that I use for Address, Calendar & GPS routing and also use it for the occasional phone call.

    The only Android phone supported in the PAYG plan is the iDen-only Motorola I1. I want to keep the PAYG plan, but want a much better phone and also one that uses the CDMA network as iDen is going away in the foreseeable future.

    In the little research I have done, I have found one guy who claims he can alter just about any Sprint Android phone to be accepted by Boost Mobile's PAYG service. I won't post the link here, but I was wondering if there are other venues for getting one of the higher-end Sprint Android phones for use with PAYG.
     
  12. Kyles#1fan

    Kyles#1fan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is not true. It is called flashing when you get a phone switched over to a company that it is not suppose to be on. You can buy a evo or something off of craigslist even if it has a bad esn and get it flashed to boost or cricket. There is a guy in chicago who does it.
     
  13. JeffinCA

    JeffinCA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    8
    Okay... when I get the phone flashed, what, exactly, is done? Does the flashing duplicate the identity of a phone that is already accepted on the new network?

    Would the smart thing be to buy a Boost CDMA phone to replace my iDen phone, then flash the EVO 4G (currently used as a PDA) to mimic the Boost CDMA phone?

    Jeff
     
  14. fldavidstorm

    fldavidstorm New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you ever get your answer? There are many actual brick and mortar stores on Ebay and who advertise on the net who will Flash your phone to Boost and NO you don't have to already have a Boost Phone. They will take care of this for you. Most charge 65 to 100 for the Flash plus 50 for the first month goes to boost and 10 for the sim card they use. We aren't talking about some guy in a back alley here. You can mail the phone to them and have it back in 3 days.

    I purchased a Epic 4g on Ebay with a GOOD ESN (but you can have a bad one) and had it Flashed. You will get the phone back unlocked which gives you control over the phone to Tether and many other things on Android OS. Flashing is LEGAL. Unlocking your phone is LEGAL. What you do with it to violate your contract with the carrier after that is another story.
     
  15. ubercrombie

    ubercrombie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I just signed up dor a sprint contract 2 months ago and was wondring that if i do this, will i glhave to return my photon? Thanks in advance
     

Share This Page

Loading...