Stock camera app used to auto rotate in 1.5, not in 2.1?General


Last Updated:

  1. synthkatze

    synthkatze Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I searched before posting. I upgraded to the new 2.1 leak. Noticed the stock camera app doesn't auto rotate. It stays static in landscape mode. Is this the way it supposed to be or can it auto rotate just like it did in 1.5?
     

    Advertisement
  2. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,692
    Likes Received:
    8,365
    No, it is supposed to stay in landscape, but it works the same either way. If you want to take a picture in portrait just turn and shoot. The picture will still be in portrait.
     
  3. synthkatze

    synthkatze Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    True..just wanted to see if this was normal behavior in 2.1. Thx!
     
  4. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    I think it's a "feature" not a "bug." In 1.5, I always had to wait five seconds for it to rotate the controls before I could take a picture. That delay was annoying. Now that it always shows the controls in one direction, there's no delay when turning the camera different ways.
     
  5. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    there is no auto rotate but it is set to "widescreen" as a default. if you pull down the bar at the top of the screen and go to settings you can uncheck the widescreen box manually.
     
  6. EddieVersatile

    EddieVersatile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    3
    I love this feature! It makes taking pictures a lot quicker.

    It just, detects how you are taking the picture behind the scenes :)
     
  7. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357

    no it doesnt.
     
  8. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
  9. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    He's right: It still saves the picture in the correct rotation, so it's aware of how you're holding the phone. (If I take a horizontal picture and send it somewhere, it shows up horizontal. Take a vertical picture, it shows up vertical.)
     

Share This Page

Loading...