Straight talk APN ATT help!Support


Last Updated:

  1. Amaeloeze

    Amaeloeze Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm not able to use any data on my nexus 4 because my apn is not set up. I don't know how to set it up i've been looking and trying things but nothing is working can someone please help?! thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rcarnes91

    Rcarnes91 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    32
  3. kismetgeek

    kismetgeek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    9
    That poster was incorrect about needing two different settings. your phone can only use one at a time.


    follow this guide:
    How to set up the right APN on your Nexus 4 | Android Central

    except leave the proxy field blank. You don't need it, and it will probably slow you down slightly.

    it's that simple, just those 5 or 6 settings in the APN, reboot, then you're ready to go.
     
  4. danielunde

    danielunde Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    5
    What about the Galaxy S3 APN? Would it be the same?
     
  5. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin' Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    10,634
    Likes Received:
    7,396
    Yes, APN settings should be the same across devices.
     
    danielunde likes this.
  6. danielunde

    danielunde Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    5
    What about if they are unlocked S3 and S4?
     
  7. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin' Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    10,634
    Likes Received:
    7,396
    Shouldn't be a problem. APN settings for ST are mainly used so the phone knows the address of where to pull data and MMS from. Shouldn't matter which phone is used.
     
  8. SlyFerret

    SlyFerret Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    25
    This is what I have configured on my and my wife's nexus 4 handsets. MMS has been working for us.

    # Straight Talk #
    Name: Straight Talk
    APN: att.mvno
    MMSC: http://mmsc.cingular.com
    MMS proxy: 66.209.11.33
    MCC: 310
    MNC: 410
    APN Type: default,supl,mms
    Protocol: IPv4
    Roam Prot: IPv4


    -SF
     
  9. ritchea

    ritchea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    34
    Because ST APN's seem to be fickle, especially with MMS, I've included what works for me. This DOESN'T mean the above settings won't work so try them first. I believe the numbers 66.209.11.33 = mms2.tracfone.com. I do not know if the port is necessary, but I have it. Note that :80 after the proxy numbers will work. I added the "hipri" when I was having problems with mms. It could be coincidental that mms started working after that. When I am on wifi, I usually have to turn it off for mms to send.
     
  10. smacdow

    smacdow New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just set up my Nexus 4 using the info from the straight talk sim support page:

    (go to this link and click on "Phone Programming")


    1. CREATE A NEW APN (ACCESS POINT NAME). ENTER ONLY THE SETTINGS LISTED BELOW:

    FIELD SETTINGS

    NAME: straight talk

    APN: tfdata

    PORT: 80

    MMSC: http://mms-tf.net

    MMS PROXY: mms3.tracfone.com

    MMS PORT: 80


    2. SELECT THE APN YOU JUST CREATED.

    3. DELETE THE OLD APN FROM YOUR PHONE IF POSSIBLE.

    It is working perfectly on my phone.
     
  11. john30308

    john30308 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    33
    Ditto above. Been working for months no problem.
     
  12. Dmowry

    Dmowry Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just tried these settings today twice and was never able to get then to work. Back to the original att.mvno settings.
     

Share This Page

Loading...