• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Terrible Download Speeds using Wireless Tether

When I use wireless tether on my 4g connection, I am consistently getting speeds of 0.1 Mb down and 0.8 Mb up... this is with numerous tests over several days with various versions of wireless tether and different roms (currently using stock). I have also tried wiping the cache in recovery between wireless tether installs with no luck. The connection on the phone itself when I'm on 4g is regularly between 4-8 Mb/s down and almost always exactly 1.0 Mb up. I am new to android and this was probably the biggest reason for me to get this phone. While I'm not expecting 4 Mb on a wirelessly tethered connection, I would think it should be much faster than 0.1! I don't know what info from my phone is needed to help, so I apologize if this is information overload:

Android 2.2
Baseband Version: 2.15.00.11.19
Kernel Version: 2.6.32.17-gee557fd htc-kernel@and18-2 #15
Software number: 3.70.651.1
PRI Version: 1.90_003

Wireless Tether: version 2.0.6 - I have tried other versions mentioned in other threads (pre9, pre11, etc.) that were supposed to work, but no luck.

Any assistance would be very, very much appreciated!