Tethering on my epic


Last Updated:

  1. johnwilliams94

    johnwilliams94 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I just got my epic and I got that Pdanet tethering app. I have unlimited data, but I use it alot. by the end of the month ill probably have used about 8-9 GB. Do you think thats way too much and I'll get a notice from Sprint?
    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    IIRC, they start giving funny looks at 5GB. Yeah, they probably won't like you too much....
     
  3. Eazail70x7

    Eazail70x7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    108
    If you have 4g, it won't be calculated in your data usage. I checked my account and was surprised to find this out. I used more 4g data in one session than I have showing on my statement. Its like using wifi!
     
  4. johnwilliams94

    johnwilliams94 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks...i only have 3g though.
    well i guess ill just find out when my bill comes...
     
  5. princealyy

    princealyy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    There is a 5gb max on the 3g network so be careful. Are you paying for internet on you pc??
     
  6. johnwilliams94

    johnwilliams94 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, but my desktop doesnt have a wireless card...and even if it did i dont think it would have enough strength to reach out router....
    i thought the 5gb was for if you were PAYING for the 30$ extra monthly tethering fee....but i could be wrong
     
  7. badankles

    badankles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    90
    if you have a router, then all you need is a usb wireless adapter for your desktop. you can get a cheap one for less than $10 almost anywhere and it would be faster than tethering.
     
  8. bryanberlin

    bryanberlin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have 4g avail in my area but was unable to get pda to work any opinions on easy tether?
     
  9. TheAlien

    TheAlien Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    9
    PDA works fine for me. Just got back from Vegas and used it for my lappy the whole time. Used 4G most of the time (was moving around a lot).
     

Share This Page

Loading...