• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

The one thing that's making me hesitant on picking this phone up...

sw33ndawg

Feb 8, 2011
The network. Don't get me wrong, I have no problem with AT&T. I've been using the carrier for about two years now and have had no problems. The thing that worries me is locking myself into non-LTE for 2 years. I live smack in the middle of Philly and NYC so I'm fairly sure LTE will be available in my area within the year.. so I'd be stuck on a non-LTE phone for a year, and that would kill me. This is the main reason I'm leaning towards switching to Verizon and getting the Thunderbolt. Anyone else feel the same?

Reactions: ECdOc
The network. Don't get me wrong, I have no problem with AT&T. I've been using the carrier for about two years now and have had no problems. The thing that worries me is locking myself into non-LTE for 2 years. I live smack in the middle of Philly and NYC so I'm fairly sure LTE will be available in my area within the year.. so I'd be stuck on a non-LTE phone for a year, and that would kill me. This is the main reason I'm leaning towards switching to Verizon and getting the Thunderbolt. Anyone else feel the same?
Don't get it then lol

Reactions: ap3604
Upvote 0

Actually LTE is already avail in those 2 markets with Verizon they are just waiting on a phone to use it.

Upvote 0
My sentiments exactly. I just dont want to pay the rumored LTE premium monthly costs.

For mobile broadband Verizon is charging the same price as they did for 3G. And right now that is the offical thing we have for pricing right now and using it they will not charge more for LTE.

As to ATT and LTE they will not even start deploying it until second half of the year.

Upvote 0
If its just the network (and not the locked bootloader) that's your problem with the Atrix, the Bionic on Verizon may be the better option (if your patient)