• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

To Captivate or Not

Hey All,

I've been rocking an iphone 3G for over two years now and its time to change. I have no interest in another Apple product, so that essentially leaves Android or Blackberry.

I really like the customization of android but what I'm wondering is if the pros outweigh the negatives of the Captivate. Lack of GPS, random shut downs, etc.

Since the Captivate keeps getting delayed in Canada I'm hesitating to committing to a phone for two years that doesn't work properly. Are these fears overblown?

The pros outweigh the negatives for me and many others. There have been several people here though that they didn't, so they returned their Captivate for something else.

Not sure anyone can decide this for you. For me, the only other phone in the same caliber ballpark was the iPhone 4 but in that case, the negatives of the iPhone far outweighed the negatives for the Captivate. My issues with the iPhone are fundamental design choices that will never change. My issues with the Captivate are bugs and quirks that do have the potential to be fixed. Meanwhile, there's a long list of things I can do on the Captivate just fine and working right now that I cannot on the iPhone. Also given that switching to Verizon or any other carrier is simply not happening and not an option. So... decision made.

Reactions: s.m.knipe
Upvote 0
I came from an iPhone 3g and I'm over apple. I did a lot of research on the captivate and the aria. There was no way I was going back to blackberry. Great phone, but no customization.

I even went and played with the captivate before I chose it. I played with the Aria also.