Use droid x in Argentina on vacation


Last Updated:

  1. matthewclaxton

    matthewclaxton New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a droid x and I would like to know if it can be unlocked to use in Argentina while I am down there this Christmas? When I asked at the Verizon office they looked at me and said no just buy one there which was less than helpful, also less than helpful was the on line rep who told me for around $65+ I could use it at $4.99 per min !!! any ideas?
    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. Xeneize480

    Xeneize480 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    59
    No!! This phone is CDMA and Argentina has GSM. You will be able to use it with WIFI and maybe use Skype.
     
    matthewclaxton likes this.
  3. swagner53

    swagner53 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    62
    Argentina abandoned CDMA for GSM a few years ago. This means only Verizon World Phones would work. The DroidX is not one of these. Also, international use of phones on US contracts is usually very expensive. Your best bet would be to get a prepaid when you get there.
     
    matthewclaxton likes this.
  4. Xeneize480

    Xeneize480 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    59
    That's why I have my BB Bold unlock =) so when I travel outside the US as soon as I get any where I just buy a prepay SIM card and forget about paying VZ the expensive fees.
     
    matthewclaxton likes this.
  5. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    Are you seriously upset that you can't use your non global phone globally?
     
  6. matthewclaxton

    matthewclaxton New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it cost enough that it ought to do something usefull !!
     
  7. Xeneize480

    Xeneize480 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    59
    Theses days people gets upset for being upset :D

    I do tech support and boy, you should hear the comments.
     
  8. matthewclaxton

    matthewclaxton New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you get the BB bold unlocked? or is that something that has to be done later? Thanks
     
  9. Xeneize480

    Xeneize480 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    59
    Yeah, you need to get the BB unlocked before you leave the US.

    Do You have a BB bold? or BB World?
     
  10. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    You can't unlock a CDMA only phone to work on a GSM network. and as the the comment on how much it cost, Verizon offered phones that gost just as much if not CHEAPER that do can be used globally. If that was a requirement for you then maybe you should have done a little more research before you purchased the phone.
     
  11. Xeneize480

    Xeneize480 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    59
    :D give him a break!! Not every one knows everything... =)

    I doubt the VZ rates are cheaper than getting a prepay service at any other country.
     
  12. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    For sure! Verizons global roaming rates are pretty ridiculous.
     
  13. Xeneize480

    Xeneize480 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    59
    That's why I always keep a global phone handy :D
     
  14. HalfFrozen

    HalfFrozen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    48
    ....

    ....

    Joking right?
     
  15. IHateMyTreo

    IHateMyTreo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    962
  16. GSBJackson

    GSBJackson Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    5
    VZW will unlock global GSM capable phones to use other SIM cards if you've been a customer for more than a couple of months. Highly recommend using a SIM card preloaded for that country. Also try Mobal | International SIM Cards if traveling to multiple countries.
     
  17. sund0wn

    sund0wn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    175
    i'm pretty sure that isnt true. why would they provide you with a device that circumvents paying for a service they provide? that would be like saying verizon will loan you a netbook that you can put an AT&T sim card in and use their network.
    verizon will loan you a global capable phone that can be used internationally, but they have a vodafone sim.
     
  18. sund0wn

    sund0wn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    175
    no kidding. it actually sounds like the verizon rep gave him good advice.
     
  19. nj02vette

    nj02vette Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,346
    Likes Received:
    2,034
    You cannot use your CDMA phone on a GSM network, just as everyone else stated.

    However, Verizon will give loaner global phones for the duration of your travel. I did it before when traveling to a non-CDMA area. They did that at no charge.

    Have to watch though, international roaming was outrageously expensive. The Verizon rep probably gave you the best advice, get a prepaid phone down there.
     
  20. mruno

    mruno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    180
    and again if wifi is available you can use sipdroid to get voip service.
     

Share This Page

Loading...