• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Using a separate email address for contact sync..need some suggestion

taylormah

Jul 21, 2010
I am new to android (never owned one before), and will be getting my first android device soon. I have one gmail account, another mail account with google apps and a yahoo mail account, so my contacts are spread around. So I made a separate gmail account just so that I could fetch all contacts at one place and delete the ones I dont need, and then do selective contact sync with android device. I will also use this account to back up my SMS's and any other kind of data that can be backed up in cloud.

I wanted to ask you guys when setting up the device, should I use my newly created gmail account as primary account or the one that I am using on daily basis?? My main concern is that once I bought apps with one account, I wont be able to use another account again later, so I want to get it right from the start. Also, can android still use calender and email from my other gmail accounts as primary calender/email??

I would suggest looking into a free cloud backup system from the Android market. There are plenty out there where you can combine and edit your contacts in one place to push to your phone, as opposed to an extra google account.(I used to do this, hated multiple accounts.) This will also keep your SMS, pictures, videos ect. backed up.

When you get the Android you just sign into your main gmail account and your email/contacts/purchased apps will sync up...

Not to try and push it too much, but the m:IQ app from Best Buy is designed to solve the issue... If you have a smartphone now, you can download the app on that as well to get all info off your phone easily.