Want to root to damageless...but im a n00b! HELP


Last Updated:

  1. aplacetorest

    aplacetorest Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    So... since im fed up with Sprint's / HTC's shit, i want to root. But i have questions.

    - After rooting, will i be able to "un-root" and go back to a completely normal stock phone if i wanted to?

    - What are the chances during root / flash that my phone will brick?

    - When 2.1 DOES come out, will i be able to install it?

    - Will i still be able to play / use / buy items from the market?

    - What should i back up before flashing?

    Thats pretty much my questions, but also - i need help on what to do haha, i am SO clueless on this. Im good with everything tech normally, but ive never had a nice phone like this.

    All and any help is appreciated :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    yes
    slim
    yes
    yes
    back up will be explained in the link below
    If I were you, I would start by reading this thread:
    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-sprint-hero/38911-guide-root-rom-faq-tutorial.html
     
  3. aplacetorest

    aplacetorest Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
  4. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    It's a grey area, but as long as it looks totaly stock to Sprint/HTC, the warranty should be ok.

    EDIT, you will probably get better and quicker answers to questions about rooting if you post in the Root sub-forum I linked in the post above. Everyone here is happy to help, but the sub forum is watched by more of the root folks,
     
  5. revlis240

    revlis240 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just did it 2 days ago. I used fresh kitchen to root the phone in 5 minutes and then used the boot loader to install damagecontrol 2.08, easy!

    For ME, i had to use the "old" RA on fresh kitchen, yet it still loaded 1.6.2. watch the video on fresh kitchen and youll see what i mean...
     
  6. aplacetorest

    aplacetorest Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Whats "RA"? Old RA?
     
  7. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,602
    Likes Received:
    3,221
  8. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
  9. barnacles

    barnacles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    32
    I would manually root, and avoid an auto rooter. 2 reasons.. 1) I've heard of hiccups occurring with auto root, and 2) doing it yourself gives you experience with cmds and makes you more aware of this you can do in the future. Go to that root/rom faq page that was linked in the beginning of the page, and basically follow it to a T step by step. In about 30 mins you will be rooted.

    Flashing is the easy part, one you follow those steps, you simply drag and drop the file you want to flash onto your sd card, boot up the phone holding home (which brings you to your RA screen, and flash it.
     
  10. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
    trust if i can do root and flash, anybody can lol
    cmd prompt was so much easier than auto root
    all you had to do was copy and paste
    and there was a video to follow along with
    and it paused it after every step
     
  11. lopezpm

    lopezpm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    26
    another vote here for doing it the manual way. I learned a ton doing it that way.
     
  12. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    I'm rooted, how do I put Damage on my device?
     
  13. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,602
    Likes Received:
    3,221
    download the zip file from his thread
    copy it to your sd card
    boot to recovery
    nandroid backup
    wipe: dalvik, data
    flash the zip
    reboot
    wait.. wait.. wait

    good luck
     
  14. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    When I try to boot into recovery the phone gets stuck at the HTC Logo. While Booting it says, no image or wrong image.
     
  15. barnacles

    barnacles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    32
    You are booting in recovery holding the home key as you press power right?

    Did you extract the zip. If you did, you shouldn't. The zip file needs to be transfered to the SD.

    Make sure you wipe/factory reset, as well as clear the dalvik. Flashing the image shouldn't be a problem then..
     
  16. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    I am doing that, didn't extract the zip. The problem is I can't get into recovery. I know I'm rooted as I used root explorer to delete some stock apps. How do I flash the recovery?
     
  17. barnacles

    barnacles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    32
    What happens when you turn the phone off, HOLD home, and press the power button (while continuing to hold home)?
     
  18. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    stuck on htc logo.
     
  19. barnacles

    barnacles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    32
    Hmm.. what RA version are you using? Try to update to 1.6.2 if you don't already have it and see if maybe that might solve your issues
     
  20. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    How do I flash it with using cmd?
     
  21. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278

    How did you root your phone? Did you happen to flash the leaked 2.1 RUU or did you follow a guide?
     
  22. barnacles

    barnacles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    32
    Don't even know if thats possible. None the less, you are gonna want your RA working. I suggest you'll want to nandroid before flashing this ROM.
     
  23. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    I used fresh kitchen, but kept getting out off memory error.
     
  24. barnacles

    barnacles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    32
    Ultimately this is why I tell people this.. auto rooters are not solid. Doing the work yourself is much more stable. Maybe try rooting again through cmd and see what happens, but as far as auto rooting problems I can't help. I have never used one, and never will.
     
  25. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    Ok. Will try that
     

Share This Page

Loading...