• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

What Is The Best Way To Move Contacts From Blackberry Storm To Incredible?

Hi Android Noob here my phone is still on the FedEx truck but I'm wondering should I just take it to the Verizon store and let them do it on there machine? What other ways can it be done?

I took mine into the store and had them do it. They had a few problems with the machine so to make things easier I would do the following before you go to the store.
1. Power off your phone
2. Insert the micro SD card
3. Power it up
4. format the new SD card

They finally got my contacts to transfer after the SD card was formatted... BTW don't let them try to charge you for this service (they told me its $20 to transfer contacts at my local store) I told them that their backup software doesn't install on the BB Storm so this is the only way to transfer and they need to wave the charge.

Upvote 0
I had blackberry desktop on the computer it was already set to sync the contacts to outlook. exported from outlook to a .csv file and imported into gmail. worked fine this way.

I did this, and it worked for me too.

I didn't have contacts in my outlook already, so I just changed the sync option in BB Desktop Messenger to transfer my contacts from phone to pc. Then, once they populated in my Outlook > Contacts, I used the export function from the File menu, eliminated all the useless fields, and saved it as a .CSV file.

Then, go into gmail, click on Contacts, then Import, and chose the CSV file i just saved.

I'm sure there's probably an easier way than this, but it wasn't that hard and got me what I needed without additional software in less than 10 minutes.

Upvote 0
I did this, and it worked for me too.