When is android 2.2 going to be available for the HTC HeroSupport


Last Updated:

  1. boltman619

    boltman619 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need to get Android 2.2 for my hero. Is there any way to do it other than froyo or can some one walk me thru it.
     

    Advertisement
  2. jebrank

    jebrank Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    4
    From a sprint release we will not be getting 2.2 every. If you have root we might be able to get it if/when the dev figure it out! They tweeted about June 25th. Sprint (sprint) on Twitter (I dont know how to like to actual tweet, it is near the bottom of the page)
     
  3. wardfan

    wardfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    4
    There is an alpha release on XDA. I've used it and there is still a couple bugs, but it runs great. Battery life is amazing and the Hero is very responsive. We WILL have 2.2 soon :p
     
  4. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    47
    Gimme a break... why do you "need" it?
     
  5. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    Lol, what he said ^^.

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
  6. jparker71

    jparker71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    10
    Click on the date and it'll take you to a page with the individual tweet.
     
  7. kassdog

    kassdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why by the time htc releases2.2 for phones with sense the hero will be outdated. I hate that we live in a world that people get mad when they fund out thier phone isn't going to have every update possible.
     
  8. emblemboy

    emblemboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    7
    I don't see what's wrong with wanting your phone to get an upgrade. Especially when people are usually tied to their phone for long period of times. Unless you want to buy a phone for full price I mean.


    I know I'd like 2.2 since I hear the speed upgrade is a huge improvement.
     
  9. spicy_mchaggiz

    spicy_mchaggiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    1
    root it and get a rom once it becomes available if you truly NEED it.
     
  10. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    Didn't the Desire get a working 2.2 build recently? Wouldn't surprise me if that gets ported to our Hero's, since the desire ROM's were our first 2.1 builds with sense (I think)
     
  11. Shady Pete

    Shady Pete Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    9
    I dont see why is wrong to want and upgrade that runs 3-5 times faster than 2.1. The hero doesnt have the best components to an upgrade that allows it to use less resources and run better i logical. I played with my friends rooted moto droid thats running froyo today and its extremely/smoother than 2.1.
     
  12. UniqueNate

    UniqueNate Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    95
    are you saying the rooted version is better then the official 2.2? cause if not then, what you said made no sense. you said his rooted froyo was smoother/better then the 2.2, when 2.2 is froyo.
     
  13. matty032

    matty032 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yeah, the next ROM upgrade will allow our Hero 's to take 4 minutes to dial a number, after pressing send. Instead of just the 1 to 2 minutes it does now.
     
  14. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    47
    lol
     
  15. Cuso

    Cuso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    9
    LOL indeed...
     
  16. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Is that really how long the dialing lag is? Wow, that is pretty terrible.

    The worst mine has lagged was maybe five to ten seconds and that is a rarity. Does it have to do with the amount of contacts there are on the handset?
     
  17. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    It has nothing to do with the amount of contacts. I've only got about a dozen (not counting facebook contacts, which I have less than most lol). I have no idea why the lag gets to be so bad, sometimes only 10 seconds, other times upwards of 30 seconds. I just wish someone would figure out where that is in the coding and fix it
     
  18. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    I still don't even understand what lag everyone is griping about, is it that like 3 seconds from when you tap on a contact to when it starts dialing?
     
  19. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    No, for some of us it takes upwards of 30 seconds from the time you press the contact to the time it finally dials out
     
  20. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    Wow... suckage...
     
  21. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
  22. NCHornet

    NCHornet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    8
    I was Sprint yesterday and got a new Hero after all the problems I had after switching to 2.1. I asked them about 2.2 cuz the advanced tech said it would be out soon. According to the manager of the store only phones that came new with 2.1 would be getting 2.2, so the Hero is out. I was having lots of issues after getting 2.1, but with the new phone the lag is decreased a great amount and so far I am not having the other problems.

    NCH
     
  23. stunnersohail

    stunnersohail New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    any news from HTC?? Pls bring in here.. mail them flood them.. They will release the update for our beloved HERO!
     
  24. huffman6977

    huffman6977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    2
    my hero came new with 2.1. so does that mean i get 2.2 lol yea right
     
  25. bushming

    bushming Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Android 2.2 IS froyo. There is no other way to do it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...