• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Why is my newly rooted EVO so slow, laggy and has terrible battery life?

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to rooting and I found an article on "Unrevoked." I basically just wanted to run some "root only" apps - especially free wifi tethering/hotspot. So, using Unrevoked 3 was painless and I installed Barnacle which didn’t need a custom kernel and works like a charm.

But my main questions are

1) Why is my EVo so slow and laggy!? I have a number of apps running that are supposed to speed things up - Green Power Premium, CPU Tuner, Tasker (which I have done nothing yet because I am finding it difficult to use). I also use Android Assistant to BOOST things and clear up space and clear caches. This is my second EVO as the first was defective and was replaced by this NEW one. The stock UTC Sense UI was so fast - then I switched to Launcher Pro and since then HUGE lag - and it says it's supposed to SPEED things up!