• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

WiFi connected not working at home only

joyttw

Lurker
Oct 13, 2013
Today, my galaxy 3, my son's galaxy 3, and my husband's note 2 all stopped working on the home wi-fi. It SAYS it's connected and the signal is strong, but no email, facebook, internet etc is working.

The wifi works in other locations (mcdonald's, church, etc),but not in our home. Our laptops and other son's iphone work just fine. It is only our android phones having an issue, and only at home.

After a couple hours of googling, I tried the WiFi Fix app -- didn't work. I tried the WiFi Static app -- didn't work.

The only thing I think will work is changing the static ip settings, but I don't know what to put. After seeing a thread regarding this on these forums, even that didn't solve someone else's issue. I am NOT tech savvy so I can't handle complex directions and going to the command prompt etc.

The only solution I found is someone in May 2013 with this issue just waited 3 days and it just started working again.

I'm hoping someone can figure out based on our circumstance (all 3 android phones suddenly having an issue) what the solution might be. I'm guessing it's a router issue, am I right? How would you help a non-techy person with this?

Thanks!

Static IP:

Look in the router and see what IP addresses it's using. (Can't tell you where without knowing the router make and model, but look around - you want the dynamic IP address range or the DHCP range.) Pick an IP address well away from that range - for the last number only. The first 3 numbers have to be the same.

So if the router is using 192.168.1.2 to 192.168.1.100, use 192.168.1.200, 201, 202, etc.

Use 255.255.255.0 for the mask and the router's address for the gateway. If you can't find the DNS address in the router or in one of your computers, use the gateway address for both (or one if you're asked for only one).