Wifi Tether HELP!?


Last Updated:

  1. ohvzwguy

    ohvzwguy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    android-wifi-tether - Project Hosting on Google Code

    Need a Walk through here.
    here's what I've done.
    rooted and installed latest version of software from site above.
    I'm able to connect to computer via WIFI (adhoc connection) and all IP addresses are assigned correctly.
    When I send a tracert, packect does not go beyond the default gateway.
    Basically I'm not able to get an Internet connection using the 3g network.

    Posted the same question on the support page of the link above, but have not had a response, and I know serveral people here have had success.

    Please Help.
     

    Advertisement
  2. TonyG916

    TonyG916 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    32
    will verizon charge me for tethering...i installed sholes.info rom and it comes with tethering.
     
  3. ohvzwguy

    ohvzwguy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    It violates your terms and conditions, so YES. They can't prove its happening, so NO. Hope that helps. Do you have and input related to the actual question?
     
  4. meekrab

    meekrab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    9
    Have you tested with other machines? Try changing ssid/channel/etc., start and restart the tether app, and of course you should still be able to download 3g data onto the droid itself even when it's tethered. Check and make sure that works when you're connected.

    When I had my first tether installation, I would toggle wifi on and off from the power widget to make it work. Sometimes, leaving it on made it work. It was unpredictable.

    I'm running bugless beast rom which includes wifi, and it's rock solid.
     
  5. TonyG916

    TonyG916 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    32
    is there a way to delete the tether that comes with the shole rom?
     
  6. ohvzwguy

    ohvzwguy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    tested on multiple machines (3) xp, vista, windows 7.
    3g is working while tethered.
    ...

    do you have a good link with instructions for this rom?
     
  7. deeznuts2

    deeznuts2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    I wouldn't bet on it.

    If, for example, your account shows a small amount of data usage over X amount of time, and then all of suddent your data usage skyrockets, thats going to raise a red flag on VZW's end. They may or may not look into your account.

    There are stories going back a few years of people getting "busted" and being charged a whopping tethering fee after the fact, so yes, VZW can find you. Whether they want to and/or whether you "allow" them to, is another story.

    With that said, its going to be a lot harder for VZW to "prove" you are tethering without a data plan, since there are a good many apps on the market that pull large amounts of data to make them work. For example, there is a NBA app out there where you can watch live games and/or watch replays of games. Imagine the amount of data that is being exchanged if you watch a game or two once or twice a week.

    So even without tethering, the market has open the doors for large amounts of data to be exchanged.

    However, don't say that VZW can't catch you....they can.
     
  8. meekrab

    meekrab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    9

Share This Page

Loading...