• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help X10 Mini - the lost features

g0nadz

Sep 16, 2010
Estonia
Hi all! Hope this is in the right place...

I'm pretty new to android being a dedicated WinMo person so here goes:

I just bought my spouse an x10 mini (cuz of the obvious cute factor :D ) and it seams to lack some certain key features. I have the phone rooted and most of the unnecessary pre-installed crapola removed with Titanium Backup and now I need to fix these small problems before I see her chuck the phone out of the window... Free would be nice but I wouldn't mind spending a bit hard earned to get the better app.

1. The obvious lack of send with bluetooth in gallery - a way around this or a good app to do the job.
2. The camera app is horrible, no zoom, no real effects, VERY basic - a completely new camera app that would do the job well/a lot better?
3. Why do all the caller or background pictures have to be cropped? Is there even a way around this?

Will any of these problems be addressed in the coming 2.1 update if that even ever comes :D

Are there any other must have apps I should get her? She's not really into smartphones and basically just uses her phone for calls, texts, photos and music + some VERY light and occasional web browsing.

EDIT: BTW, does anyone know of a list on what and what not can be uninstalled safely

Thanks for any help people!
g;

Hey there, ok trying to answer in same order...

1) Try downloading Bluetooth File Transfer app from the market. You can send from the phone and use the phone to browse another device to copy and paste from the remote device.

2) I use an app called Vignette on my X10 big, but don't know how well it will go on a mini. They do a lite version for free so you could give it a go.

3) Not figured out the cropping thing either sorry.

I like Handcent SMS app better than the stock app. Its very customisable and looks good too.

Hope the above helps!