1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

2.0 Has arrived. So...

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by wilswong, Oct 29, 2009.

  1. wilswong

    wilswong Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    1
    0
    5

    Advertisement

  2. Carl C

    Carl C Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    6,062
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,062
    38
    238
    Student
    London
    Hi wilswong & Welcome to AF :D

    1) Why would you need to go to HTC Customer service? If you already have an Android then your phone will simply receive the update when it is ready. If you haven't got an android yet..... Buy one with 2.0 pre-installed :p

    2) Yes check this tweet by HTC !

    Carl C ;)
     
  3. Opettaja

    Opettaja Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009

    Aug 19, 2009
    16
    0
    15
    Will the Mytouch be able to update to 2.0? Or did I just waist the money on a phone that wont be updated again?
     
  4. miltonpulse

    miltonpulse Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    will the pulse get it
     
  5. Carl C

    Carl C Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    6,062
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,062
    38
    238
    Student
    London
    @ opettaja & @Miltonpulse

    Yes it will , I can't see Google Abandoning a Phone that was just recently released. I beleive Both handsets are capable of holding 2.0 aswell :)
     
  6. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    2,940
    564
    213
    Real Estate Agent
    M A dub'l dolla sign
    For the mytouch it will be very easy to upgrade if you don't mind rooting and flashing a custom rom. The pulse, I don't know a lot about that phone, who makes it? Huweai or whatever? I would imagine if it uses regular Android you shouldn't have to wait to long for it, basically whenever the provider pushes it OTA or on there website. Hero is definitely getting it as confirmed by HTC.
     
  7. azdiver

    azdiver Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    32
    0
    15
    What about the samsung moment? Will I be able to upgrade it to 2.0?
     
  8. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    2,940
    564
    213
    Real Estate Agent
    M A dub'l dolla sign
    Once Samsung OK's it you will be all set. Depending on Sprint it will either be OTA (Over The Air) or a file you can download on there website and load onto your Moment.
     
  9. shivers316

    shivers316 Godmember
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,042
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008

    Oct 18, 2008
    3,042
    984
    213
    As of right now, the only phone that would probably be in question is the G1. The hardware capabilities of the G1 are eventually gonna not be good enough to upgrade.
     
  10. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    3,121
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008


    Agreed, the only saving grace is that the G1 has is it is essentially the ADP1 phone once rooted and because of this will be used until ADP2 comes out....
     
  11. MysonJayden2009

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    ADP1 OR ADP2 :thinking:
     
  12. G8D

    G8D Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    533
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    533
    4
    61
    Whats ADP?
     
  13. pacothebandit

    pacothebandit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009

    Mar 11, 2009
    296
    6
    36
    Android Developer Phone

    And just to tag off the above comments. the MT3G does not have any space limitations and because of that will most likely get the 2.0 update. That is completley dependent upon Google and not T-Mo. The G1 does have space limitations but im sure there will be a mod for it sooner or later. YAY WOOT FOR ROOT!
     
  14. Carl C

    Carl C Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    6,062
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,062
    38
    238
    Student
    London
    Android-Developer-phone = ADP :)
     
  15. MysonJayden2009

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    Thanks for the answer. Its so funny that my phone is rooted and I see Adp all the time and didn't know what it meant. Lol.
     
  16. dwall1212

    dwall1212 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    17
    0
    15
    i just got a samsung moment last weekend does anyone know how i could update it to 2.0 or does anyone know how to crack yxflash for androids? becuase i saw a crack for iphones on you tube but not for the android....
     
  17. Brian

    Brian Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 8, 2009

    May 8, 2009
    43
    5
    16
    Robotics tech
    Austin


    How To: Root Your CDMA HTC Hero (Sprint/Verizon) | The Unlockr

    idk about the droid...but for the other cdma androids
     
  18. spottyelephant

    spottyelephant Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    550
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009

    Jul 31, 2009
    550
    17
    63
    does 2.0 bring OpenGL 2.0 support??
     

Share This Page

Loading...