• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

5400mAhr battery for GNote - review

strangename

Lurker
May 16, 2012
I've seen a few posts about spare / replacement batteries for the Galaxy Note. This one is about the Mugen Power 5400mAh Extended Battery (HLI-N7000XL) specifically designed for the Note (N7000 / International model). This is an internal battery, not a plug-in external unit.

To be clear, I'm not a professional reviewer and have no vested interests in Mugen. This is not a scientific review but based on my actual experience. For a more controlled scientific analysis of battery discharge time bv the minute, or whatever, you'll need to look elsewhere. However I believe it's real life experiences which really matter.

I tend to pick up first impressions of a product based on the visual quality of the packaging, case finish, instructions, etc. The Mugen product did not disappoint at this stage. It was simply packaged but effective in protecting the contents and easy to get into. The instructions where easy to read and make it clear that it's necessary to fully charge and discharge the battery for 3 or 4 times before it carries a full charge. This took well over week to achieve due to the long life of the battery between charges!

The Mugen battery is, as you might expect, physically larger and heavier than the stock Samsung Galaxy Note battery. But the increased size offers in excess of a doubling in capacity so with normal use needs much less frequent recharging. Indeed the main points of my comparison are size/weight, longevity, and price/value.

Physical Size and Weight