• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

?? about Ebooks

pengyou

Feb 17, 2011
North Dakota
1. I spent an hour yesterday researching "what are the best ebook readers". I found the sites saying things like "this can read dozens of ebook formats" or "this can read many ebook formats" or "most formats". How many formats are there? I am a teacher and am in constant need of new information. I will also begin a masters program this fall...personally, I am a book worm also. I will most likely run across most, if not all, formats in my education.

2. A related question, is there one article somewhere that has a thorough description of all of the features available? A search produced a number of articles, each only a paragraph or two long talking about one or two features. Sometimes they say things like "this is only available on the real Kindle, not the Kindle app".

3. Is a dedicated ebook reader better than a tablet with a host of apps on it? I am not so young anymore...you can say that I am much closer to being 30 than I am 20! I hear mention that a dedicated ebook reader is easier on the eyes, i.e. Kindle's paper white but is this really so? but the paper white ebooks do not have color to display pictures.

Any help is appreciated!

I think Kindle books are .DRM protected. There's a Kindle app in the Play Store though. Currently they're offering all the Black Panther backstory.

I've never tried, so i have to ask. Does the Kindle app let you read comics?

Linux (I use Mint) has an eBook converter to convert formats to your preferred desire. ..'Calibré'?

Reactions: pengyou
Upvote 0
FBReader is the best I've used. It can read many formats. My current favorite is .mobi

+1 to FBReader, been serving me for years now.