• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Accessing System & Applications On Mac OS X

PGB1213

May 20, 2016
Detroit
Hello All!
I hope you all don't mind if this is an elementary question, but I could not figure it out on my own.
I am brand new to smart phones (and pretty new to cellular telephones). The carrier said my old phone won't work any longer, so they sent me a smart phone.

The new phone is a ZTE Z812 Maven that uses Android 5.0.
I was exploring around and downloaded a couple of applications. I also bought a Micro SDHC card & installed it. I had moved my downloaded apps to the SD card & left the (dozens of) pre-loaded apps on the phone.

I wanted to be albe to move music files from the computer to the phone, so I downloaded Android File Transfer application for Mac.
Android File Transfer lets me see see lots of files & folders on the phone & SD card; most of which are empty. But, I was curious about where apps live, so I hunted around & did not find any.

I also got curious about where the system files are stored. Again, no luck finding them on the phone or the SD card. (The computer is a MacBook Pro using OS X 10.11.5 El Capitan.)

Lots of internet searching provided many varying answers for seeing hidden files, app files & system files. They ranged from getting an app for this to places on the phone to find the folders & files. I tried all the on-phone things & had no luck. I backed away before I installed an app, preferring to ask here first.

My next attempt was to put the SD card directly into the computer via an adapter. OS X's Finder saw it and some hidden files were revealed, but not the apps or system files. Only OS X related hidden files show up. That showed me that the Finder-Like window in Android File Transfer App is not really a Finder window, but laid out like one for our convenience. (Pretty Spiffy!)