1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root alpharev table updates

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Hadron, Jun 10, 2011.

  1. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,491
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,491
    14,611
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Just spotted that alpharev have updated 2 of their tables:

    * CM7 r2: 145/5/287
    * Oxygen r2: 100/5/332

    I'd noticed that recent CM7 nightlies were struggling to fit the CM7 table, so this was on the agenda. The new Oxygen table has shrunk the cache to partially compensate for enlarged system.

    GingerVillain will now fit the new CM7 table, but unless something like the 06mountdl script can be made to work with it the small cache will cause problems.
     

    Advertisement

    shauny13, porter_james and Usta like this.
  2. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    333
    The Netherlands
    Well spotted!

    So, we can guess that the next CM7 version will be larger than 130MB. Flashing a new table will "cost" me 15MB space, if I want to stay with CM. Not a big deal.

    Oxygen table seems interesting (30MB space gain for me), if I jump to CM7 Light or a similar tiny ROM.

    Anyway, good to know they are keeping the tables up to date. :)
     
  3. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,491
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,491
    14,611
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    They've added some features too. Sounds like people using new alpharev hboots won't need goldcards, and hboot won't be replaced by RUU (unless you load a special one that can be).

    Not sure of all implications - I don't think I'd want an oxygen hboot to survive an RUU myself. Guess the idea there would be to fix the problem, flash custom recovery and then load a new custom ROM (as discussed in the 1.06 news thread recently).
     
  4. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    where are you getting this info?
     
  5. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #117
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,647
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,647
    304
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    alpharev.nl
     
  6. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #117
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,647
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,647
    304
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Is it really CM7 r2? That's one hell of a revision, do they mean CM8?
     
  7. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    i read it but didnt see that, i can see it now

    they should call this 1.9 then
     
  8. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    How come the small cache size is a problem for Gingervillain but not for CM7?
     
  9. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    cos the cache2sd script doesnt work with it
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    The CM7 nightlies barely fit in the CM 7 Hboot. So the next 7.0.4 or whatever it will be wont fit either, so theres a new release of the CM7 Hboot (R2)
     
  11. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    Oh ok. I was going to use the CM7 table with GV but I'll go with Bravo Sense instead.
     
  12. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    i wish they would make a covert one for people who need to send devices back
    like it says "S-ON" even though its S-Off and doesnt ahow alpharev at the top

    that would be awesome as it would let you RUU the device to stock and the hboot would look normal (for hardware issues)
     
  13. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #117
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,647
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,647
    304
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Tip-ex?
     
  14. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    rofl
     
  15. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    just flashed the latest bravo spl

    mainly because i had a custom mtd on n1 table and it just felt wrong having a custom mtd over a hboot forced mtd

    ive corrected this now as i had an excuse to be bothered
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...