1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Amon_RA 1.6.2 Custom Recovery: trackball not required!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by scary alien, Nov 8, 2010.

  1. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,311
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,311
    23,795
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    +1 to doogald's answer re. needing this... You don't need this until you need it--but it doesn't hurt to have it in-place if you want to. Also, having a wonky trackball later on will not prevent you from being able to install this tweaked-recovery.

    Also, now that jcase has re-appeared over at XDA, there's still a possibility of creating a 1-click app that will install this alternate recovery just like his 1-click rooting app (I know how to create this app and actually have his source code, but I will not do this or use his source without his permission).

    doogald, are you thinking of the issues that some folks having booting into recovery due to the different bootloader versions? I.e., http://androidforums.com/eris-all-things-root/205697-notes-recovery-booting-1-5-vs-2-1-otas.html This is the only thing that rings a bell to me...

    Cheers!
     

    Advertisement

  2. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,692
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,692
    1,928
    483
  3. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    thats exactly why i went ahead and installed it. i dint want to have to find the thread again if it wasnt still at the top when it happened,and worry about having to make it work then. plus what if i wasnt at home or near my puter :eek: ;)

    i feel much better having it in place and knowing that it does work. i actually use a combination when i change things-i use the trackball to scroll and end to "click" as it feels wierd to me clicking the trackball. im afeered ill spin it while clicking and accidently click somethin else,lol... so thats another good incentive to have it in place!

    bobcat are you asking if you should use the 1.6.2 or 1.7.1? i tried the 1.7.1 first and got an error- i think because my SD card isnt partitioned. i tried the 1.6.2 afterward and it worked fine.

    i think the bootloader version is only an issue with what method to use turning it off. if you have anything but 1.49.0000 you cant use the flashable zip. i had the 1.47 and did the battery pull to get the 1.49 s-off bootloader.

    i had the 1.47 when i added the trackball optional recovery. after chaging the bootloader,trackball optional is still there and working! :cool:
     
  4. Bob Cat

    Bob Cat Careful, They're sharp!!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,042
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    7,042
    4,287
    513
    Midland's, South Carolina
    Well I just went into hboot and I have 1.49 s-on. I think I read somewhere that's a problem and is more likely to brick. Is that true? Do I need to do something?:eek:
     
  5. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    no... you arent more likely to brick. and you dont have to do anything in order to install scarys modified recovery :)

    the deal with s-on and s-off is simply that if something happens to your phone,and it wont reboot normally,and it wont reboot into recovery(i.e.,if it does become a brick ;) ) then you can use a pc to put software back onto it and recover it if you have the s-off bootloader.

    if you brick your phone to where it wont boot regularly or into recovery,youre kind of up a creek with the s-on bootloader.

    the good news is that since you allready have the 1.49.0000 bootloader,you can prolly simply download and flash the file like you do a ROM and it will work for you. haivng the 1.47 it dint work for me,so i had to let it install from hboot.

    hang on a sec and ill try and find you some links :)

    edit: here are a couple links
    start here:
    http://androidforums.com/eris-all-things-root/75384-visual-example-pb00img-zip-update-method.html
    this is what i had to do. there is discussion towards the bottom of it regarding the "engineering bootloader" PB00MING.ZIP.

    some more discussion here:
    http://androidforums.com/eris-all-things-root/121597-how-install-engineering-bootloader.html
    including some idiocy from me,lol. in my usual fasion i made it more complicated than i needed to in my head.

    info on xda:
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=8897869&postcount=4

    here is the link to the magic file:
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=8680709&postcount=29
    just download it,move it to your SD card,then flash it like you would any other rom. with the exception of dont do any wipes,just boot into recovery,do a nand backup(just in case ;) ) then flash it. since you you allready have the 1.49 bootloader it will prolly work for you.
     
  6. starflorida

    starflorida Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    39
    5
    16
    N. Florida
    Scary,

    I've been using your mod a lot so again, thanks!

    In addition to the "wipe Dalvik cache" option, there is also "wipe cache"

    What cache s being wiped?

    Thanks,

    Sf
     
  7. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,311
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,311
    23,795
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Wipe Dalvik-cache cleans-out the /data/dalvik-cache directory. Wipe cache wipes-out the /cache filesystem.

    Here's a few threads that discuss this (and include some other interesting stuff about recent ROM's use of cache2cache and its impact on the /cache filesystem):

    http://androidforums.com/eris-all-things-root/185924-dalvik-cache-question.html

    http://androidforums.com/eris-all-things-root/76110-what-dalvik-cache.html#post1778155 (apologies for the frivolity in this thread :p)

    Cheers!
     
    starflorida likes this.
  8. Jdiulus

    Jdiulus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    56
    0
    15
    Telecom
    Ok can anyone simplify this for me. I am trying to root my Bosses phone. I used the universal one click method (All went well)!

    I booted into Amon_RA Recovery and found out that his trackball will not scroll down. So I need to load the tracball not required version, but I am not understanding exactly where to start.

    The directions in the beggining of the post refer back to rooting for dummines. I didnt get this far by using that method, therfore I am confused on where to start. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  9. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,644
    759
    223
    "Mr. Trackball", aka scary alien, is no doubt composing a response for you right now. The methods for getting the "trackball free" version of Amon_RA onto the phone are a little bit more advanced than what you have used so far, so I'll suggest something which might be useful to you:

    Boot into Amon_RA and plug the phone in via USB. Try to gently move the USB plug around and simultaneously see if you can get the trackball to work.

    Some Eris phones with perfectly good trackballs will not work at all with the original version of Amon_RA, and it is unknown why this is. There are a lot of phones with mechanically marginal trackballs, and sometimes gently wiggling the USB connector will change that behavior. It may not work, but it is worth trying before you resort to more complicated methods.

    eu1
     
    scary alien likes this.
  10. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,311
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,311
    23,795
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Its almost like eu1 is watching me! :eek:

    I was about to reply, but I've been stuck on a conference call at/with work, so I appreciate eu1's much simpler reply than what I would have provided ;). (I sometimes forget that users may not have gone through some of the simpler solutions to issues (i.e., the one he suggested or even the BlackBerry-derived rubbing (somewhat vigorously) the trackball on a clean sheet of paper)).

    Hope the simpler solution works first! :)
     
  11. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,644
    759
    223
    Jdiulus,

    If you determine that it is not a "wonky trackball", and you can't get the trackball to work at all under Amon_RA, then follow scary alien's "Scenario 1" instructions. (You are in Scenario 2, but the instructions for Scenario 1 apply, just as he said in his original instructions.)

    Yes, it tells you to use a different rooting method (with a small and simple modification). He knows exactly how both rooting methods work, and the suggestion he provided is the simplest for a new rooter. (Basically, the recovery image that would have been installed by the Dummies method is replaced by the trackball-not-required version midway through that process)

    He could have given you a different method (there are three or four different ways to approach this problem), but he gave you the least difficult and least error prone way to do this that is currently available.

    Now man up! :)


    eu1
     
  12. Jdiulus

    Jdiulus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    56
    0
    15
    Telecom
    I will try the USB method, but I am skeptical that it will work! The trackball works fine in any app except scrolling down. It's really weird! I will not have access to his phone until tomorrow. So if the USB thing doesnt work, should I start from the beginning of rooting for dummies?

    It seems like I need to use the rooting for dummies method and after I complete the steps in "Setting things up with a File Manager" then I follow the steps in Scenario 1 and then continue on with "Rooting with Gscript Lite"

    Is that accurate? I hope so. I just dont want to BRICK his phone. That wouldnt be good.

    I had to do this to my phone but I was already rooted and followed scenario 3 and it worked just fine.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  13. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,311
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,311
    23,795
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Jdiulus,

    Yes, you have it correct.

    What you are doing is just replacing the Amon_RA custom recovery that erisuser1's method prepared for you with the trackball-optional one (i.e., taking a quick detour from his instructions to replace it and then resuming following his instructions as normal). I just had to be very specific in the instructions about exactly what to do and it makes it seem harder than it actually should (or will) be ;).

    Also, have a look at this thread with its YouTube video (several have reported this cleans their trackball): http://androidforums.com/eris-tips-tricks/114731-trackball-cleaning.html

    Let us know if you have any other questions or need any help...

    Cheers!
     
  14. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,644
    759
    223
    You description is correct. There is zero (yes, that's right, zero) risk of bricking your phone with either the OneClick or Dummies method.

    The absolute worst thing that could happen is corruption of the recovery, but nobody that has a stock phone ever uses the recovery... and, it can be corrected by simply re-running the rooting method.

    Make sure the bosses' phone is well charged, and go for it.


    One more comment, a little bit of a tangent; I think you might have considered this already. Over Christmas, I visited my relatives and discovered that my 19-yo niece has a Sprint (CDMA) Hero. She was having the usual problems - too many texts, couldn't delete them; slow phone, etc.

    I contemplated offering to root her phone for her. Fortunately, I came to my senses (no pun intended) within about 5 seconds. When you root someone else's phone, especially if they don't possess tech-fu... you will have a "customer" that comes begging to you for every little thing about their phone for the lifetime of that device. They come to associate YOU with every thing that happens to the phone thereafter. It's inescapable.

    Something for you to consider, anyway. If your boss is tech savvy, maybe he is using the assignment as a test of your skills. OTOH, if they are a PHB (a la Scott Adams), it might be better for you to just claim that the phone can not be rooted and move on. :D
     
    scary alien likes this.
  15. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,311
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,311
    23,795
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    eu1,

    I just wanted to say thanks again for about the umpteenth time, lol!

    You never (well, almost never ;)) fail to post something that is not 1) relevant, 2) informative, and 3) entertaining.

    I always enjoy reading your posts and look forward to the many new things that I will learn or at least be entertained by the new spin and perspective you bring to an issue--you truly embody what is great about AndroidForums.

    Thank you again, sir!
     
  16. Jdiulus

    Jdiulus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    56
    0
    15
    Telecom
    Eu1 and Scary definetely appreciate all the insight. Yes fortunately for me my boss is tech savy. He is the operations Manager of a Telecom company so it will not be one of those cases where I become the babysitter. I do know what you mean though. We install phone and voicemail systems, and a huge part of my job is coddling some of our customers.

    So I will give it a shot this afternoon and I am sure if I run into any problems that you guys can help me find a solution.

    Once again thanks for all your help.

    GO STEELERS!!!!!
     
  17. Montavious

    Montavious Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    6
    1
    6
    Trying to get this to work using install option 3 and 4:

    when I run Gscript-sa in Gscript Lite i get the following: Error this scipt is ment for the HTC Droid Eris (desirec)

    Your phone is reported to be:

    So when I tried push the IMG with install option 4: failed to copy '...' to '/sdcard' : Is a directory

    Any ideas what i'm doing wrong? Thanks

    EDIT: nvmd i got it after deleting Exit 1 line
     
  18. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,311
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,311
    23,795
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Montavious,

    Glad you got it running and hope its helpful to you...

    You must be running KaosFroyo, right? ;)

    I can't really change the script to check for this since the getprop command wouldn't be available for that piece of information either...

    I'm not real comfortable with taking out this check that only seems to fail for those running KaosFroyo...I'll put a reference in the first post to the posts that discuss and suggest how to tweak the script.

    Cheers!
     
  19. Jdiulus

    Jdiulus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    56
    0
    15
    Telecom
    Scary EU1 just wanted to say thanks. Got the trackball optional running on my Bosses phone on Friday without a hitch. For some reason it just sounded a lot more complex than it really was.

    Maybe cause I never used the dummies method. Nevertheless got it working and defeated the ERIS and it's deviant trackball.

    Thanks for all the help!

    Pittsburgh and GreenBay. Cant wait!!!!!
     
  20. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    699
    154
    113
    Automotive Electrical Technician / Mechanic
    I'm a drifter.. here and there.
    Well I gave my Droid X to my younger sister yesterday in anticipation of the HTC Thunderbolt release which is my next phone.. so I'm back to good ol' Eris and had to use this mod last night cuz her trackball is borked (of course).

    Thanks again Scary :)

    GO STEELERS!
     
    scary alien likes this.
  21. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,311
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,311
    23,795
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Thanks again, Brian! Wow, you are a very generous brother..."the Gift of X" is bountiful, indeed!

    Welcome back to the Dark Side ;) (I'm still living mostly in the X world, but I love my Eris so much, I don't wanna leave :)).

    Cheers and have a great weekend!
     
  22. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    i had been waiting anxiously for new phones to come out.i have a droid 1 that i like alot.but i have had so much fun switching roms around on this eris that i havent used the droid since i got it,and i find myself not as anxious for the bionic or thunderbolt to arrive :eek: :D
     
  23. BSH

    BSH Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    71
    9
    16
    Never mind, I got it.

    I'm not a hacker, I'm more of a plodder.
    Thanks.
     
  24. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,311
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,311
    23,795
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    lol....saw your original post in my email...glad you got it worked out!

    Cheers!
     
  25. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,692
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,692
    1,928
    483
    Scary, after reading about this on the other thread today, I finally did this. It worked perfectly.

    It took me 5 months, and while my trackball works perfectly, I guess that an Eris trackball that works may be just an Eris trackball that hasn't broken yet. I used the gscript method because I was too lazy to fastboot.

    Anyway, I still wish I could hit the thanks button more times. Thanks for doing this.
     
    scary alien likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...