• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

android.process.media is using >95% CPU

qu1nn

Jun 11, 2010
Hello,

I need some help. I am an android NEWBIE The phone is warm & the battery drains in about 4hrs. Started searching some forums and tried several things, been battling unsuccessfully for several days.

Menu > About > Battery: Shows that Awake = Uptime

using an application called System Panel Lite to try to figure out what is going on...some png's are attached.

Here are some of the things that I have tried
1) Performed a Factory Reset
2) All Active Syncs = OFF : No Luck
3) home > apps > TALK : disabled automatic sign in, Signed out and rebooted = NO CHANGE

Menu > Settings > Applications > Running Services:
format: Application (process): Service:
bold = my problem

Calendar (com.htc.bgp): ObexService
Calendar (com.htc.bg): Connectivity Service
Google (com.google.process.gapps: GTalkService
Voicemail (com.coremobility.apps.vnotes: CM_Service
Media(android.process.media):MediaScannerService
HTC DM(com.htc.android.omadm.service): HtcDmService
Sprint Zone (com.sprint.zone): UpdateService
HTC IQAgent (com.htc.android.iqagent): AgentService
com.smithmicro.DM (com.smithmicro.DM): DMServiceApp
Touch Input (com.htc.android.htcime): Touch Input

I tried to shutdown the MediaScannerService process, however there was NO CHANGE in the CPU usage.

Any suggestions on what to try?

regards
qu1nn

Attachments

• 20100611-Battery Use.png
    20100611-Battery Use.png
    19.9 KB · Views: 299
  • 20100611-Battery & CPU info.png
    20100611-Battery & CPU info.png
    30 KB · Views: 274
  • 20100611-Android_Process_Media.png
    20100611-Android_Process_Media.png
    38.9 KB · Views: 265
I think android.process.media is what accesses media on your SD card. Do you have stuff(mp3's) on there or is it still factory clean?

Yes I have tons of stuff on the SD Card.