1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support any way ti force lte like the thunderbolt?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by durangojim, Dec 29, 2011.

  1. durangojim

    durangojim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    491
    470
    88
    There was an app called lteonoff for the thunderbolt which allowed you to only use lte and not cdma. Is there anything similar for the nexus?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,810
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    1,810
    550
    223
    IT god
    B'more
  3. durangojim

    durangojim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    491
    470
    88
  4. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,810
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    1,810
    550
    223
    IT god
    B'more
    No it didn't you had two options

    "LTE + CDMA"

    "CDMA"


    there was no option for "just" LTE. you could "force" 3g "CDMA" but not the other way around.
     
  5. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
    there definitely was an option for LTE only on the thunderbolt, but i am pretty sure it was built into the stock radio selection and was not a feature of LTE on/off. LTE on/off just made it easier to get to this menu.

    [​IMG]

    unfortunately, the GNex does not have this option. :(
     
    durangojim likes this.
  6. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    It was a quirk of the TBolt radio... All LTE On/Off does is open up the advanced radio menu that you can get into by dialing some long number in the dialer (I forget what it is now)... The reason it was a must have app on the TBolt is because it was the only way to turn off LTE on that phone (unless a dev put it into their ROM). On the Nexus you can do the same thing by simply going into the Data settings in the Settings menu.
     
  7. durangojim

    durangojim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    491
    470
    88
    Lte only was very much an option and worked very well to allow the phone to hold on to an lte signal in fringe areas.
     
  8. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    Yep it was... As I said above it was a quirk of the TBolt radio, it was the same reason you could talk and do data at the same time.
     
  9. jkc120

    jkc120 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    2,266
    1,107
    313
    Senior Software Engineer
    El Dorado Hills, CA
    Doesn't the Rezound have SVDO as well (3G talk + data at the same time)? I'll have to test that out...I assume if I drop it to CDMA only mode, I should be able to test by making a test call and trying to surf.
     
  10. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    Not sure... It is definetly a possibility since the Rezound is also from HTC...
     
  11. BlueBiker

    BlueBiker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,534
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    1,534
    925
    213
    Male
    New England
    Yep, it does.
     
  12. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,380
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    2,380
    286
    163
    Restaurant Owner and Chef
    Denver
    When I had my Thunderbolt I left it in LTE only mode most of the time I live in a great LTE area so it actually gave slightly better battery in LTE only then lte/cdma also the Rezound does have SVDO .
     
  13. VeryEvilAsh

    VeryEvilAsh Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    80
    20
    18
    Operator
    Philly
    I'm hoping and praying to be able to do this in the future. I need LTE to be forced in order to use my slingbox on my phone. Thunderbolt was great because it would let me do this. I may have to get the Rezound. I'm loving the nexus but if I can't force 4G it's useless to me at work.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...