1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General anyone else's eris do this?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jayochs, Jul 18, 2010.

  1. jayochs

    jayochs Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    672
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    672
    89
    78
    Critical Infrastructure Protection Bureau, Office
    Brick, NJ
    when you wake it up and see the lock screen, know how you have to like swipe it down to unlock it?

    does anyone elses unlock by hitting the menu softkey?? mine does, without needing to swipe it down. i just hit the end button, it wakes up, can hit menu and bam right to home screen. hmm!
     

    Advertisement

  2. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    699
    154
    113
    Automotive Electrical Technician / Mechanic
    I'm a drifter.. here and there.
    Yup, depends on the rom. Also, an app called root tools (made by jcase) will turn this on for roms that dont have it enabled.
     
  3. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    I just use the menu key. Much easier than swiping. Though on the current ROM I'm on, it doesn't support it.

    I also told my mom to do this, since she has a hell of a time doing the swiping motion. I just told her recently about you can press the green call button to answer a phone call after getting incredibly frustrated with trying to do the swipe motion to answer a call.
     
  4. boing

    boing Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Mhm. I always use the 'Menu' key because it's a lot easier than scrolling it down which usually takes me a couple of tries.
     
  5. ispamforfood

    ispamforfood Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    70
    9
    26
    I have 2.1 OTA and it does that for me too... just noticed.
     
  6. xzillerationer

    xzillerationer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    197
    12
    58
    Highschooler
    I'm not sure... I think... somewhere...
    On my device, the menu button for unlock doesn't work. Why not? Because if it did, then the device would go into my lock screen's menu(no joke!) and offer me various options for customizing it and placing widgets and shortcuts.



    ...wait, your doesn't do that?
     
  7. donlu30

    donlu30 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Pg 40 in the MANUAL explains how you can use the menu instead of swiping to wakeup your phone.
     
  8. jayochs

    jayochs Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    672
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    672
    89
    78
    Critical Infrastructure Protection Bureau, Office
    Brick, NJ
    ah thanks for the tip; i don't have a manual because i bought it from a friend for 20 bucks. lol
     
  9. Flyphoenix

    Flyphoenix Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    135
    5
    56
    Yeah sometimes I swype it down or hit menu key
     
  10. airtas

    airtas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    93
    1
    16
    is this why my new refurb keeps unlocking in my pocket?
     
  11. isherwood

    isherwood Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    94
    40
    23
    Male
    Web UI Developer
    St. Cloud, MN
    It tells you right on the stock 2.1 lock screen that you can use the menu button if you touch it. Still, I didn't notice it until my wife tried to unlock the phone the other day. :)
     
  12. E.two.one

    E.two.one Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    51
    3
    36
    firefighter
    Maine
    thats a stock function. i have been unlocking that way ever since i discovered that it was possible.
     
  13. jayochs

    jayochs Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    672
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    672
    89
    78
    Critical Infrastructure Protection Bureau, Office
    Brick, NJ

    hahahaha i'm truly ******ed. i just realized it said this right now too. sigh. lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...