1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Apps keep not installing!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 68Novaman, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. 68Novaman

    68Novaman Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    88
    5
    16
    Ive been trying to install Tapatalk for a few weeks now. I've tried paying for it through the Market, installing it from the internet and conecting phone to computer and putting it straight to the SD. I have also unmounted the SD card and tried to install and I have rebooted the phone tried different kernals (I am rooted). Other apps install fine but this one in particular and a few others just wont install no matter how many times I try. Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    856
    274
    113
    Are you getting an error message when you're trying to install it?
     
  3. 68Novaman

    68Novaman Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    88
    5
    16
    Sometimes I do. I've gotten error -18 and error -50. But mostly no i never get an error message just said application not installed.
     
  4. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    856
    274
    113
    Are you trying to install it as an apk or flashing it like a zip?
     
  5. 68Novaman

    68Novaman Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    88
    5
    16
    Just installing it as an apk. Don't think I've ever flashed an app before not sure if I know how.
     
  6. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    move all apps back to phone, delete the folder android_secure on the sd card, reboot and move apps back to sd card.

    all should work after that if this is the same error so many others have posted.
     
    tommoon32 and 68Novaman like this.
  7. 68Novaman

    68Novaman Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    88
    5
    16
    Tried deleting that as well didnt help anything but I shall try again.

    Edit: Tried again, still wont install apps. I can download them but still cant actually install.
     
    tommoon32 likes this.
  8. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    856
    274
    113
    68Novaman likes this.
  9. 68Novaman

    68Novaman Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    88
    5
    16
    Whats the steps of flashing the entire rom again and is there a how to on how to use this caulkins format?
     
  10. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    856
    274
    113

    What recovery do you have installed?
     
    68Novaman likes this.
  11. 68Novaman

    68Novaman Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    88
    5
    16
    I currently have Clockwork recovery with a netarchy toastmod kernal installed
     
  12. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    856
    274
    113

    What version Clockwork? Only reason I'm asking is bc the 3.0 version won't flash certain zips.
     
    68Novaman likes this.
  13. 68Novaman

    68Novaman Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    88
    5
    16
    Damn well i just updated to 3.0.0.5
     
  14. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    856
    274
    113

    Are you using ROM manager? You can use that to flash RA recovery or an older version of Clockwork.
     
    68Novaman likes this.
  15. 68Novaman

    68Novaman Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    88
    5
    16
    Yes I am..ok then after I flash an older version then what should I do?

    Edit: I reflashed back to 2.5.0.7...now what should I do?
     
  16. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    856
    274
    113
    Then go ahead and flash the caulkin format all zip. Then flash your rom of choice. Keep in mind your gonna lose whatever u don't back up on ur phone. So maybe download ti backup for whatever u want to backup before flashing the format all and rom.
     
    68Novaman likes this.
  17. 68Novaman

    68Novaman Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    88
    5
    16
    Ok i just flashed it and its sending me right into bootload screen and thats it
     
  18. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    856
    274
    113
    Did u select recovery from there?
     
    68Novaman likes this.
  19. 68Novaman

    68Novaman Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    88
    5
    16
    Yes and I cannot find any rom to flash I just see the few kernals that I had put on there to play with. I had a friend help me root so I semi know what things are on the SD card. I believe my idiot self just selected something stupid and re-wiped the phone. I used unrevoked to root would i select that as my "rom"?
     
  20. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    856
    274
    113

    Not a problem. Can you download a ROM to your computer?
     
    68Novaman likes this.
  21. 68Novaman

    68Novaman Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    88
    5
    16
    Yes I can just send me a link. This is scaring me lol I dont want an expensive paperweight.
     
  22. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    856
    274
    113
    Not a problem. We'll get it fixed. What ROM do you want?
     
    68Novaman likes this.
  23. 68Novaman

    68Novaman Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    88
    5
    16
    Doesn't really matter to me anything that runs very smooth and I can finally install Tapatalk on.

    Edit- All I need to know now is how to get it on the SD card once I have the Rom downloaded now that im stuck in recovery mode.
     
  24. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    856
    274
    113
  25. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    856
    274
    113
    Also, did you already flash the Caulkin Flash file?
     
    68Novaman likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...