1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

AT&T Disables Inspire 4G HSUPA

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Aatos.1, Feb 19, 2011.

  1. Aatos.1

    Aatos.1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    498
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    498
    116
    88
    West Coast USA

    Advertisement

  2. Chew

    Chew Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    286
    31
    43
    South of Titletown
  3. AndreaCristiano

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    4,012
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,012
    222
    143
    NJ
    Repost brother. Although I think once the HSPA + LAUNCHES this will change but we will see
     
  4. ap3604

    ap3604 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    571
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    571
    78
    98
    Ouch!

    Hope Att doesn't cripple the Atrix like they did with the Inspire for no reason...
     
  5. AndreaCristiano

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    4,012
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,012
    222
    143
    NJ

    All android devices will have hspua disabled its been like that since day one. It won't affect the average users at all. 99% of people only use the download speeds on there phones. Also I believe once hspa+ launches this will change once there is all.new backhaul
     
    Balkin likes this.
  6. Aatos.1

    Aatos.1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    498
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    498
    116
    88
    West Coast USA
    Oh I know and you're right... :)

    It's just that about a week or two ago, I read they were enabling it for Android phones, as the article confirms they did for the iPhone.

    What really ticks me off is I still have this uneasy feeling that AT&T continues to give preferential treatment to Apple and the iPud... Oops I meant the iPhone 4. Heh!

    In addition I use my Inspire to upload very large files to my company when I'm traveling which is weekly. I use my Inspires ability to connect to my laptop and transfer these files to it's memory card, do a final check then send them. So in that regard as an IT guy I'm using it's full capabilities unlike "your average user". Oh well it was no big shock, it's the Apple thing that set me off. A very difficult task, as I'm a really low key guy.

    Cheers :)
     
  7. Aatos.1

    Aatos.1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    498
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    498
    116
    88
    West Coast USA
  8. AndreaCristiano

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    4,012
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,012
    222
    143
    NJ

    Well this seems to line up perfectly with my theory once the hspa+ is up and running they will allow the hspua especially if.you look at the speeds this phone is capable within the specs 14.4 down and 5.7 up
     
  9. Chew

    Chew Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    286
    31
    43
    South of Titletown
  10. bigtoysrock

    bigtoysrock Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    177
    10
    38
    Welder
    Leander, TX
    Question for ya. On the inspires notification bar your network data connection is displayed right? 3 is 3g, e is edge right? Thats what you are useing right? So H+ is the pre 4g correct?
     
  11. AndreaCristiano

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    4,012
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,012
    222
    143
    NJ

    Yes but there is no backhaul so even though your phone shows its connected to the hspa+ it won't get the speeds till end of march early April
     
  12. kimtyson

    kimtyson Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    IT Security Professional
    York, Pa, USA
    Aatos.1-
    If you can get to a fast wireless network, like maybe at McDonalds or a hotel, then you can get much faster uploads. I just did a test here at my home and my uploads are well over 3000kbps.
     
  13. emuneee

    emuneee Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    267
    31
    43
    What happened to March 1st? :p
     
  14. AndreaCristiano

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    4,012
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,012
    222
    143
    NJ

    They changed it under the hspa+/4g map to march 31st
     
  15. Aatos.1

    Aatos.1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    498
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    498
    116
    88
    West Coast USA
    I do _not_ repost, nor practice plagiarism.

    This is a serious accusation on your part.

    If indeed someone else posted the information, it did not appear in the forum search I conducted prior to my post.

    I have no further comment.
     
  16. AndreaCristiano

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    4,012
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,012
    222
    143
    NJ
  17. Balkin

    Balkin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    29
    2
    36
    Network Admin
    Sacramento, CA
    When I actually have ATT 4G in my area I'll worry about it, till then it's no biggie...
     
  18. Aatos.1

    Aatos.1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    498
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    498
    116
    88
    West Coast USA
    One thing I have noticed on mine is it's extremely well optimized for AT&T's 3G network. I'm in an area where they have great speed on 3G and my Inspire is noticeably faster than any phone I've had so far, it's so much faster than my iPhone it's shocking. And I'm speaking of when I'm working on the web.

    Cheers :)
     
  19. leavinghome

    leavinghome Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    61
    8
    16
    Although I'm not happy with ATT disabling it, I still doesn't bother me much. I was reading somewhere that higher upload speeds only benefits those that video chat (which we Inspire owners can't anyway) and online gaming (which I don't do either lol). Give me a better battery replacement HTC and I'm still in heaven.
     
  20. AndreaCristiano

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    4,012
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,012
    222
    143
    NJ

    So just wait till the hspa+ ;)
     
  21. Aatos.1

    Aatos.1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    498
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    498
    116
    88
    West Coast USA
    Oh yes, I can only imagine.

    This is one really excellent smartphone.

    I knew it would be a good one before I got mine, but this is truly stellar.
     
  22. AndreaCristiano

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    4,012
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,012
    222
    143
    NJ

    Have to agree 100%
     
  23. LittleAnt

    LittleAnt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    157
    19
    38
    Aerospace Engineer
    Los Angeles, CA
    second that! It's pretty darn fast as it is, but with a possible upgrade to take advantage of the (+) bandwidth? Money.
     
  24. coreymcl

    coreymcl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    166
    18
    58
    Regional Sales Manager
    DFW
    Has anybody found a way to enable HSUPA yet?
     
  25. Balkin

    Balkin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    29
    2
    36
    Network Admin
    Sacramento, CA
    I agree my 3G speeds are equal to my Nexus One so I'm cool for now!
     

Share This Page

Loading...