1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [AT&T] kit kat 4.4

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by koupe88, Dec 11, 2013.

  1. koupe88

    koupe88 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013

    Nov 25, 2013
    23
    1
    16
    Male
    auto bodt tech
    st pete fl
    anyone know of a vid on how to put this rom on a gs4 at&t 1337 4.2.2
     

    Advertisement

  2. SelfElevated2

    SelfElevated2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,335
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    1,335
    527
    213
    Male
    Auto mechanic
    Baltimore, Maryland
    No vid man. Are you rooted and do u have a custom recovery? If so make a backup of your ROM your on then download this ROM and boot to recovery then factory reset. Then flash it in recovery and reboot. Be sure to click the att version.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=44111222

    If you want a gapps package which u Dont really need. Find the 4.4 pa gapps
     
  3. koupe88

    koupe88 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013

    Nov 25, 2013
    23
    1
    16
    Male
    auto bodt tech
    st pete fl
    yes im rooted and no i dont have a custom recovery
     
  4. koupe88

    koupe88 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013

    Nov 25, 2013
    23
    1
    16
    Male
    auto bodt tech
    st pete fl
    it bricked stuck in the screen with th green droid that sez downloading do not turn off target!!
     
  5. SelfElevated2

    SelfElevated2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,335
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    1,335
    527
    213
    Male
    Auto mechanic
    Baltimore, Maryland
    That's not bricked man. Pull the battery and turn your phone back on. That is the stock recovery. And if you tried to flash it wouldnt do it through that...

    You gotta ask questions if your unsure.. If your rooted and don't have a custom recovery you cannot flash a ROM. which software release your on will determine what you need to do if u would like a custom ROM. Hope you didn't do any otas.
     
  6. SelfElevated2

    SelfElevated2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,335
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    1,335
    527
    213
    Male
    Auto mechanic
    Baltimore, Maryland
    http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?t=800164

    Seen your other thread. Well bud your on mf3 with a locked boot loader. Which means you cannot get a custom recovery. But hashcode over at xda has made something called safestrap that will allow you to install Roms.

    Google is your friend. Look into it. And ask questions when unsure. But also read instructions on things or you will brick your device one day. And please get familiar with xda att s4 threads. There is literally no useful information for the s4 on android forums. Hmm maybe I'll put out the time to fix that like I did for the s2
     
    koupe88 likes this.
  7. koupe88

    koupe88 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013

    Nov 25, 2013
    23
    1
    16
    Male
    auto bodt tech
    st pete fl
    [​IMG][/URL][/IMG]
    [​IMG][/URL][/IMG]
    rooted
     
  8. koupe88

    koupe88 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013

    Nov 25, 2013
    23
    1
    16
    Male
    auto bodt tech
    st pete fl
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG][/URL][/IMG]
     
  9. koupe88

    koupe88 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013

    Nov 25, 2013
    23
    1
    16
    Male
    auto bodt tech
    st pete fl
  10. SelfElevated2

    SelfElevated2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,335
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    1,335
    527
    213
    Male
    Auto mechanic
    Baltimore, Maryland
    good to hear. Really sucks for you guys that got screwed out of a much simpler experiance with that ota mf3.
     
  11. koupe88

    koupe88 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013

    Nov 25, 2013
    23
    1
    16
    Male
    auto bodt tech
    st pete fl
    well if its all software how can i be rid of the whole mofo opps mf3 and yea i went to the page you pointed me to um yea its a cluster truck to me im realy realy a noob to this i can build anything but software no not so much so im asking how can i up my device to kitkat 4.4 or better remove unneeded bloatware and get my moble hotspot up n running please
     
  12. SelfElevated2

    SelfElevated2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,335
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    1,335
    527
    213
    Male
    Auto mechanic
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Well since your on mf3 your bootloader is locked. Meaning you cannot put a custom recovery on the phone. No cwm and no twrp. Safestrap is your only option to put a custom ROM on the phone. But safe strap is limited to which ROMs it can use. Anything cm based is a no go. Most stock based ROMs will work but they only go up to 4.3 which I really didn't like. Google edition ROMs I think are compatible with safestrap but I or you would have to ask someone who knows to confirm. And they are on 4.4. 4.4 is sooo nice so I Dont blame u for really wanting it.

    BC I am not on a locked boot loader I have never had to look into the INS and outs of safestrap and all that. But I'll get back to you
     
    koupe88 likes this.
  13. koupe88

    koupe88 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013

    Nov 25, 2013
    23
    1
    16
    Male
    auto bodt tech
    st pete fl
    it seems its looking real slim on doing this im thinking
     
  14. koupe88

    koupe88 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013

    Nov 25, 2013
    23
    1
    16
    Male
    auto bodt tech
    st pete fl
    anything yet
     
  15. windsorclarenc

    windsorclarenc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011

    Nov 6, 2011
    719
    629
    163
    Male
    Windham, OH
    Sprint's GS4 just got a KitKat OTA update so it shouldn't be long before we get one. If you just want to wait a few weeks. But most likely the OTA update will break all previously found root exploits.
     
  16. koupe88

    koupe88 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013

    Nov 25, 2013
    23
    1
    16
    Male
    auto bodt tech
    st pete fl
    update my 1337 is gone i now have a tmoble gs4 sgh-m919 running 4.3 now how can i get to 4.4 kit kat
     
  17. electricpete

    electricpete Android Expert
    Rank:
     #77
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    2,054
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    2,054
    1,013
    393
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    tmobile - that would be a different forum
     
  18. iiBatmanSwavy

    iiBatmanSwavy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012

    Jul 22, 2012
    63
    3
    26
    Male
    I tried to flash a custom recovery onto my phone... but now is stuck in download mode and cant proceed to stock recovery. My phone is a SGH-I337 AT&T unlocked (MK2)... i tried ODIN to flash my stock recovery, but no luck. I keep getting "fail".. nevertheless i can flash Hyperdrive through safestrap...
     
  19. g0lden

    g0lden Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012

    Oct 20, 2012
    202
    39
    53
    Male
    Student
    Louisiana
    A GS4 with MK2 has a locked bootloader. As of now, you can only use the Safestrap recovery and flash Touchwiz 4.3 and 4.4 based ROMS.
     
  20. iiBatmanSwavy

    iiBatmanSwavy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012

    Jul 22, 2012
    63
    3
    26
    Male
    Can someone give me the Links to 4.4 on Touchwiz that would work on GS4 Mk2
     
  21. g0lden

    g0lden Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012

    Oct 20, 2012
    202
    39
    53
    Male
    Student
    Louisiana

Share This Page

Loading...