1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Bad block on mtd

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by elya123, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. elya123

    elya123 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Hi all,

    I was trying to change the boot image while running. I did it with the following commads (in adb shell):

    Code (Text):
    1. cat /dev/zero > /dev/mtd/mtd2
    2. cat newimage.img > /dev/mtd/mtd2
    Apparently, it didn't work. But now, when I try to use tools like flash_image, I receive the following error messages:

    I tried erase using fastboot, and flash image, and I still get:

    What does it mean? Did my device damaged? :( :(
     

    Advertisement

  2. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    853
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    853
    The Infernal Swamp
    Never have use adb so I have no clue. Have you tried posting over at XDA? They may have more of a clue as to what you did. I would try a nandroid restore and if you didn't do a nandroid well then try reflashing the rom.
     
  3. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    What about that command line SD check/fix thing, Arg?
     
  4. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    853
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    853
    The Infernal Swamp
    If your talking about the SDCARD check in windows

    cmd:
    chkdsk x: /f /r

    That will work for the FAT on the SD Card

    He tried to change a boot image. (Boot area of phone) which being a native linux format or even a yaffs will not work.

    If he however is talking about the SDCARD then chkdsk may or may not fix the error he will need testdisk to fix that. I have no clue if testdisk can be pushed to the phone in adb or not and even if it would work there.
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
  5. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    did you see my eyes cross when I read that? :p

    I didn't realize he was talking about a location on the phone, thought it was something to do with the card... :D
     
    argedion likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...