1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Best aosp rom with navigation and possibly 4g

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Needforspeed, May 26, 2011.

  1. Needforspeed

    Needforspeed Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    233
    22
    38
    I'm going to root my phone and I'm also looking to find one with great battery life or kernel
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,014
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,014
    16,064
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    well cm7 and tiamat kernel is the best rom/kernel combo i have found that has given me the best battery life out of everything i have flashed. just check out my setup in my sig. you can get them in ref#2 of my sig as well. if you have any questions as far as rooting goes ask away as well.
     
  3. Needforspeed

    Needforspeed Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    233
    22
    38
    It has navigation?
     
  4. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,014
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,014
    16,064
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
  5. Needforspeed

    Needforspeed Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    233
    22
    38
    What version of cm do u have
     
  6. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,014
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,014
    16,064
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    yeah been meaning to change my sig. forgot sorry. im using cm7.0.2.1. i have not tried the latest stable version yet.
     
  7. Needforspeed

    Needforspeed Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    233
    22
    38
    I'm using it now and I'm having no problems so far
     
  8. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,014
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,014
    16,064
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    nice!!!! now flash the tiamat kernel and hopefully you will get the same awesome battery life that i am currently getting from the kernel.
     
  9. Headcase_Fargone

    Headcase_Fargone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    182
    7
    36
    Wimax doesn't work for crap for me with the latest CM7 nightly and the latest Tiamat (now SBC) kernel. I could get a usable signal at around 4-5mbps at home on stock Sense, now if it even connects I get less than 1mbps.

    Did you guys flash new radios or anything?
     
  10. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,014
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,014
    16,064
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    i have not tried the nightlies. the stable version of cm7.0.2.1 has wifi working for me with no issues and i have not had to switch or change anything. what radios are you on?
     
  11. Needforspeed

    Needforspeed Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    233
    22
    38
    Where did u get the first blood theme
     
  12. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,014
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,014
    16,064
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    I'm on my phone right now so hard to provide a link but you can head on over to xda and under themes and apps search for it there. When I'm at my computer I could provide a link if you still need it.
     
  13. Headcase_Fargone

    Headcase_Fargone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    182
    7
    36
    Not sure if this was directed at me since it's below my last post, but I was speaking of Wimax (4g).

    WiFi works in CM7 for me, though with seemingly less range/throughput. I connect at slower speeds at distances greater than 10 feet than I did on stock Sense. ~20mb rather than 54, for example. Not a huge deal though I suppose.
     
  14. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,014
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,014
    16,064
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    Not sure why I said wifi. I meant to say wimax. I have 4g working. Weird that you do not. Have you checked to make sure that you have your wimax keys?
     
  15. Needforspeed

    Needforspeed Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    233
    22
    38
    How do u install the the theme if u downloaded it directly to ur phone also I have figured out for some reason sprint navigation works on the latest cm 7 dont know how but it does.
     
  16. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,014
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,014
    16,064
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    first blood theme is just flashable. Just download it to your card then flash it from recovery. Don't forget to wipe dalvik cache and cache before.
     
  17. Needforspeed

    Needforspeed Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    233
    22
    38
    I already tried that with clockwork and it thought it was a rom and i went into a bootloop also i switched it to ra recovery and clockwork keeps showing up even know it said it flashed correctly
     
  18. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,014
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,014
    16,064
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    Wait so you have clockwork mod even though you flashed amon ra? Amon ra is not flashed. Hboot scans for the PC36IMG file. it needs to be named exactly that. Give me a bit as I'm on the road and typing on my phone sucks in the car.
     
  19. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,014
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,014
    16,064
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ok so not sure if this is what you did to switch recoveries but here it is anyways:
    1.download amon ra PC36IMG.zip file
    2.rename the file by just deleting the "_RA_2.3" part in the name so that it is now named PC36IMG. do not add an extension as windows hides extensions.
    3.transfer the file to the root(no folder) of the sd card
    4.power off
    5.press and hold power+vol down to get to hboot(bootloader)
    6.hboot will automatically scan for the PC36IMG file
    7.press vol up to select yes to update

    now you should have amon ra installed. hopefully this will let you flash the first blood theme. also do not forget to make a nandroid backup as clockwork mod backups will not work with amon ra.
     
  20. Cares

    Cares Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    315
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    315
    38
    63
    Check out evodeck.

    I've been on Cyanogen for quite some time now and just recently changed to evodeck this week. If you like CM, then you'll love evodeck! So much faster and "cleaner" than Cyanogen. It is basically a pure Android ROM without all that extra jazz.

    I'm currently testing Godmode kernel on it but I hear Tiamat is supposed to be pretty good.
     
  21. amerinamese

    amerinamese Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    47
    3
    36
    I love CM7 and just recently started using End of Days (which is based on CM7 with some tweaks) I gotta say, end of days is kickin ass!
     
  22. Needforspeed

    Needforspeed Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    233
    22
    38
    Can u give me the link
     
  23. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,014
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,014
    16,064
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    so did you figure out which recovery you have?

    here is the link END of DAYS - xda-developers
     
  24. Needforspeed

    Needforspeed Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    233
    22
    38
    I have clockwork
     
  25. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,014
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,014
    16,064
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    did you want to switch? you may want to if you have clockwork mod 3.0.0.5 because it only supports edify scipting. some roms and other .zip files use amend so you will have issues trying to flash those. if anything you may want to downgrade to clockwork mod 2.6 because it supports both amend and edify as well as amon ra 2.3.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...