1. Check out our companion app, Forums for Android! Download from Google Play

Support Best Launcher for HOX?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by GuitarG20, Sep 1, 2012.

  1. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    Thread Starter
    253

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,067
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    Hey ya'll,

    So sense is driving me a little bit crazy. I was wondering if anyone has an opinion on what the best launcher available in google play is/how to disable sense after I install and set it up (if I don't want to root, which i don't really want to).

    Also, is there any easy way to swap out the lock screen without rooting?

    I know these are very broad questions so any opinion you have would be appreciated. Thanks! :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    3,118

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,376
    22,693
    3,118
    Scotland
    Take a look at Apex or Nova for your launcher. My preference is Apex, but there's nothing wrong with Nova either.

    You can't remove Sense completely without root though.

    For your lockscreen, the best app is probably widget locker. There are others, but that's really the most customisable.
     
    GuitarG20 likes this.
  3. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    Thread Starter
    253

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,067
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    Okay, but is there a way to prevent it from running that you know of?
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    3,118

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,376
    22,693
    3,118
    Scotland
    It's ever present unfortunately. The best you can do is remove all widgets from sense homescreens and replace with an alternative I'm afraid.
     
  5. tyneusch

    tyneusch Well-Known Member
    73

    Nov 27, 2009
    228
    54
    73
    Bank Manager
    Midwest
    I use GoLauncher and the accompanied GoLocker. As El Presidente said, unless you root, there is no way to get completely rid of sense. Once you install another launcher it will ask you to choose which launcher (sense or what ever else you install) you want to use but again, sense will always be in the background.
     
  6. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    Thread Starter
    253

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,067
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    ugh fair enough. I wish there was a way to just force stop it and keep it from running.
     
  7. prakhardeep

    prakhardeep Active Member
    16

    Aug 23, 2010
    39
    3
    16
    Ghaziabad, India
    Why do you want to stop it from running? Just install Apex and set it as default launcher.

    You won't come to know sense is running.

    BTW, with sense 4.1, sense is as fluid as Apex/Nova.
     
  8. shauny13

    shauny13 Well-Known Member
    163

    May 24, 2010
    1,271
    302
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    I must say i used go for a long time before switching to apex. It's smoother and faster imo.
     
  9. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    Thread Starter
    253

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,067
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    Less resources used = better battery life and better multitasking. although having sense running as well in the background hasn't really been an issue yet, thankfully.
     
  10. BigCiX

    BigCiX Well-Known Member
    173

    Jul 30, 2010
    3,591
    363
    173
    California
    Using Apex and its flawless.
     
  11. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    Thread Starter
    253

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,067
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    that's what i ended up picking, and it's been amazing so far, except for the fact that I haven't found a clock widget I love yet.
     
  12. BigCiX

    BigCiX Well-Known Member
    173

    Jul 30, 2010
    3,591
    363
    173
    California

    Beautiful Widgets works good.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    3,118

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,376
    22,693
    3,118
    Scotland
    Beautiful Widgets is cheap at the moment, you'll probably find something you like in that.

    Also have a look at HD Widgets, there's some nice options there too.

    If you fancy something different, Bobclock d3, clockr or minimalistic text are with a go.
     
    GuitarG20 likes this.
  14. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    Thread Starter
    253

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,067
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    I installed beautiful widgets, but I don't see any new widgets installed

    EDIT nevermind, ignore me.
     
  15. Wattsy

    Wattsy Well-Known Member
    38

    Oct 24, 2010
    62
    10
    38
    South Wales UK
    Hey Guitar i'm another using Apex. Find it easy to use and makes my screens look awesome (in my opinion anyway :))
    I also incorporate HD widgets and Simple text into the mix.
     
    GuitarG20 likes this.
  16. Maseroche

    Maseroche Member
    36

    Aug 16, 2011
    24
    2
    36
    Bahrain
    I used Nova before the recent update to Sense 4.1 and I was very impressed with it.
     
  17. MsvSpaz

    MsvSpaz Member
    36

    Aug 8, 2011
    18
    1
    36
    Mornington, Australia
    What skins are you using for that widget. I am trying to replicate it, but am getting a dodgy looking replica.
     
  18. Wide_opeN

    Wide_opeN Member
    36

    Mar 25, 2010
    15
    2
    36
    How do you get Android to give you a choice of launcher again, if you've selected use this action by default?!

    Ex. I selected Sense for default but want to play around with other launchers currently.
     
  19. coos lick

    coos lick Well-Known Member
    53

    Jul 27, 2010
    361
    81
    53
    Scotland
    You could use one of the default home switcher apps from the play store.

    (I know you can go through settings, but I find an app easier)
     
  20. mkilci1

    mkilci1 Well-Known Member
    36

    Jul 3, 2010
    112
    2
    36
    South FL
    What theme is it that giving you text looking icons in the dock?
     
  21. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    3,118

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,376
    22,693
    3,118
    Scotland
    Simple Text is what I use for text as icons. Not sure if that's what's used in the screenshot, there are a few on the market.
     
  22. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    Thread Starter
    253

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,067
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    when you open another launcher (they appear as apps) the launcher settings should give you an option to clear defaults or select that launcher as default. I know that is the case in apex at least.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...