1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Bluetooth headset help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Teezy, Nov 19, 2009.

  1. Teezy

    Teezy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    71
    0
    15
    i have a motorola bluetooth headset and with my old Storm i could push the button on the headset and it would say "Say a command" from here i could say "Call John Doe mobile" and it would call him up. Havent figured out how to make this work on the Droid in the same manner natively. Is it possible or is there an application. Purpose of bluetooth is to be hands free. Its not very hands free if i have to pull my phone out my pocket to dial the number first to be able to use the headset.
     

    Advertisement

  2. allanlaw

    allanlaw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    437
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    437
    31
    63
    Los Angeles, California
    This feature is not supported in 2.0 at this time.
     
  3. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    Does the native Voice Dialer work? Not Voice Search, but Dialer (white phone handset icon).
     
  4. Teezy

    Teezy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    71
    0
    15

    I dont know, but the point is i dont want to have to touch my phone.
     
  5. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    There is something about it in the bulletin for the Dec. 11th update. Basically have to use the V Dialer app. until if/when a fix is deployed.

    By the way, did you get your Road Runner account up via K-9 Mail?
     
  6. vzwdroidtech

    vzwdroidtech Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    25
    0
    35
    Tech
    New England
    https://motorola-global-portal.cust...oth/p/30,6720,7155/access_id/37,1/r_id/138858

    Voice dialing via bluetooth is not currently supported. Let's hope for December 11th!
     
  7. Teezy

    Teezy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    71
    0
    15
    No I gave up on the k9 and default m/ail client
     
  8. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243

    Did you get the email from the RR account Barbara created for me? I got yours. I'm stumped as to what you are doing wrong, but I got in with no issues. Did you delete what you had setup, and use the process I outlined?

    The server name/addr. you were using was wrong. I think that was the biggest problem.
     
  9. Ace Ventura

    Ace Ventura Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    74
    1
    16
    I was about to open a thread with this same issue, but I guess there's no use.

    It sucks that you can't give voice commands from Bluetooth headset; you have to use the actual phone to do it. Not so Bluetooth-ish. :mad:

    Hope someone makes an app to fix this.
     
  10. jayes

    jayes Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    73
    11
    18
    I understand that bluetooth is not supported with headsets, but pardon my ignorance in matters like this, but would that also preclude dialing through the car's bluetooth itself? I have a unique Bluetooth setup. After the fact (meaning after I bought my car and I did not know what to ask before I bought it), I learned my Acura 2006 TSX had a very basic entry-level Bluetooth set up. Although I have a navi system, bluetooth does not show up on the navi screen. My phone and car do not sync contacts and all commands are verbal. I had to put in each number I want to call and associate it to a person. The car remembers this information. My current Moto phone is paired with my car and works perfectly. Call Tom home. Call Maria work. Etc. Will the Droid work too, or should I be waiting for updates prior to purchase? My son has BT working in his Infiniti, but uses the phone in initiate his calls. His calls dialed on his phone go immediately to bluetooth. With the Acura, one has to do some pretty fancy transferring to get a call dialed on the phone to transferr to bluetooth. Not exactly the Handsfree method I want. Appreciate any input. It's easier to know the shortcomings before buying, rather than trying to take it back when it does not work.
     
  11. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    As for waiting for updates - well, if the update is coming, whether you purchase it now or later you'll have it once it is out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...