1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

calls go straight to voice mail without ringing

Discussion in 'Virgin Mobile' started by dr4sight, Jun 6, 2017.

  1. dr4sight

    dr4sight Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    187
    7
    36
    Male
    optometrist
    Saugerties, NY
    Long time VM customer here. I have the LG Volt 2 phone while my wife had the original LG Volt. Last week we started noticing that calls to her phone when she was here at home were going straight to voice mail. Figuring that her phone was pretty old I bought and activated for her a Samsung Galaxy J3 (2016) phone.

    It seemed to work fine the first couple of days but now it's in the same situation where calls to her cell go immediately to her voice mail and the phone doesn't ring. In our upstate NY village the cell reception has always been just fair - one to three bars usually.

    I have put in an email query to Virgin Mobile but have received no reply yet.

    I've checked the most obvious things like ringtone volume. It is also the case that her phone can send and receive texts fine. She also can usually dial out from the phone but it won't ring and accept calls.

    Thoughts?
     

    Advertisement

  2. jamstewonline

    jamstewonline Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #171
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013

    Jul 28, 2013
    178
    42
    63
    Male
    Texas
    Is it all calls including from those on her contact list?
    Did you check the call setting to see if some how block all unknown numbers to be blocked or any other numbers?. (this will let them leave voice mail but you get no ring)
     
  3. dr4sight

    dr4sight Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    187
    7
    36
    Male
    optometrist
    Saugerties, NY
    It was all calls. In testing it out I would try calling her phone from mine and obviously I am on her contact list.

    Just yesterday she received a couple of calls here at the house for the first time in a week or more. Then VM got back to us saying that our coverage area has no known issues. They have suggested a procedure that will help "synchronize" the cell phone with their service towers. I haven't performed that procedure yet. It involves calling ##72786# and doing stuff from there.

    Thanks for your reply.
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,091
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,091
    39,650
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Did you get a new sim card with the J3? It could be that it wasn't provisioned correctly for VM.
     
  5. dr4sight

    dr4sight Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    187
    7
    36
    Male
    optometrist
    Saugerties, NY
    No I did not get a new sim card with the J3.
     
  6. jamstewonline

    jamstewonline Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #171
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013

    Jul 28, 2013
    178
    42
    63
    Male
    Texas
    I had some call quality issues earlier after updating to Nougat and after having VM Rep reprogram phone i have not problems since. Maybe you should just call the 800 number and ask them about the problem. They will probably reprogram phone remotely this may fix the problem. just don't call from phone that has problem use a different one.
     

Share This Page

Loading...