1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Cannot boot into recovery

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by PhilMB, Jun 5, 2011.

  1. PhilMB

    PhilMB Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    20
    0
    15
    I have rooted my DHD today and am trying to install a new ROM.

    I have downloaded CM7 but when I select to boot into recovery and install my phone just restarts as normal.

    I tried getting on to the boot menu and selecting recovery but again it just boots as normal.

    Does anyone have any ideas how I can boot into recovery?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. PhilMB

    PhilMB Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    20
    0
    15
    Ignore this I flashed again and it works now
     
  3. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    12,975
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,975
    9,515
    1,423
    UK
    You can get there manually if you switch off the phone and hold volume down + power to reboot. You should be taken to the bootloader, at which point you can use the volume keys + power to select the option to go to the recovery menu.

    EDIT: I see you fixed it anyway :)
     
  4. PhilMB

    PhilMB Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    20
    0
    15
    I have just installd cm7 but it just seems to be stook on bootup. I have had the same screen for about 6 minutes. An anroid logo in blue with and arrow going round wich keeps going on and off. Is this normal? How long does it take?
     
  5. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    12,975
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,975
    9,515
    1,423
    UK
    The first boot is always very slow, but if it gets to 10 minutes then I would probably pull the battery and reflash the firmware. You can access the recovery menu as I described above to do this.

    Did you do a factory reset before flashing? If you don't do one between major rom changes it won't boot. The only time you can get away without one is on minor updates to the same firmware.
     
  6. PhilMB

    PhilMB Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    20
    0
    15
    Yes I had done a factory reset. I will try what you said. Thanks
     
  7. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    12,975
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,975
    9,515
    1,423
    UK
    You might want to try redownloading the rom then incase the download was corrupted. (You can mount the sdcard by going to Advanced >> Mount USB Storage in the recovery menu).
     
  8. PhilMB

    PhilMB Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    20
    0
    15
    I finally got this working (I don't know how) Thanks for your help. I will have to make sure I back it up properly now so it doesn't happen again. I was quite scared for a bit haha
     
  9. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    12,975
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,975
    9,515
    1,423
    UK
    So long as you do a backup, from clockwork or via the recovery menu it's self, you'll always be able to boot to recovery and restore that - even if the phone won't turn on past the boot screen.

    You should always keep a recent one handy.
     

Share This Page

Loading...