1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Can't access Andoid Market

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jw2k, May 1, 2010.

  1. jw2k

    jw2k Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009

    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    So I've *finally* got my Desire after much hassle with T-Mobile, and it's shiney and lovely and new, but I can't access the Android Market :( When I open the Market app, it takes me to the page to set up my Google Account, I enter my details, it thinks about it for a minute or two, and then tells me that I 'don't have a network connection'. It asks if I want to connect to a Wifi hotspot, but I'm already connected to the wireless box in my flat. The internet's working on my phone, because I've been surfing the web and going on Facebook, YouTube etc. I'm probably missing something really obvious - can anyone help me out?

    Thanks,
    J

    P.S. I've yet to see the '3G' icon in the notification bar... Don't know if that's relevant or not.
     

    Advertisement

  2. cupidstunt

    cupidstunt Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    28
    4
    16
    Not sure why it's doing that :thinking:

    try running setup (in programs) and logging into your google account from there.
     
  3. Pryomancer

    Pryomancer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    673
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    673
    57
    98
    Student
    Southampton, England
    Have you tried resetting your phone?
    Settings -> Privacy -> Factory Data Reset

    It reverts your phone back to how it was when you first turned it on. Make sure you save any files on it/back up data etc before you try.

    Only try this if you've tried other options first.
     
  4. jw2k

    jw2k Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009

    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    Yeah, so I think I was just being dumb - an hour or two later and I've got it sorted out! Thanks for your replies though :)
     
  5. danielkurniadi

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    We have same problem here. Cant connect to android market, even now im browsing this website via wifi from my phone. Weird huh? :(
     
  6. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    Have you changed to gmail from Googlemail? If so that'd your issue
     
  7. DesireMe

    DesireMe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    777
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    777
    78
    78
    Poker
    Strathaven
    Works fine for me.
     
  8. mikebell

    mikebell Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    160
    25
    38
    Villa Straylight
    When I first got my phone, it would point-blank refuse to create a Google account from the phone itself.

    Account registration worked fine from a PC, though. After that was done, I just needed to enter my details in the phone.
     
  9. fusion1275

    fusion1275 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    IT Unix Contractor
    Portsmouth, Hampshire
    Hi all,

    Sorry to ambush this thread but I have a problem with Android Market and its doing my head in.... So my wife got her HTC Wildfire yesterday, I have had my HTC Desire for a few months now and we are both very pleased with the phones.

    Except for some reason we both are having troubles downloading ANYTHING from the market.

    I have turned off wifi, cleaned cache, rebooted numerous times, done the whole gtalk crap and made sure I wasnt using gmail and only googlemail. I am running out of ideas now.

    Has anyone been experiencing any problems recently? OR better still can provide any guidance on how to get these working as they should.

    Does the Market have some sort of queing system? Or even a status page telling us whether they are getting a mass of us hitting their system at once?

    Many thanks for any help provided.
     
  10. Honey61

    Honey61 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Ahh i have the same problem as the first question!! Tell me how you fixed it!?! I don't care if i'm being stupid!!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...