1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Can't edit my 4GLTE Icons

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Thats, Sep 20, 2011.

  1. Thats

    Thats That guy is This
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    1,169
    383
    183
    Male
    Air Force
    Fargo, ND
    I am editing /system/framework/framework-res.apk and replacing the 4G icons with other icons which I would prefer, am I doing something wrong or do I need to navigate somewhere else with NinjaMorph? Anyone?

    Or would there be an easier way to do this that using NinjaMorph. Any help would be appreciated!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Turdbogls

    Turdbogls Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    817
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    817
    150
    103
    Designer/Drafter
    O-town Florida
    using ninjamorph is fine, i do it all the time.
    if you are on 2.2 (froyo) they are in the framework-res.apk
    if you are on 2.3 (gingerbread) they are in the systemUI.apk which is located at: system/app/systemui.apk

    change those ones out and you will be good.
    all the 4G/3G/1x/wifi/signal/bluetooth ect icons are in the systemUI.apk now. only the battery is still in the frameworkres.apk

    also, i would not zipalign the apk's when applying the changes...just something i took away from GB and ninjamorph when i did it on my Droid X...it may work on the TB, but i haven't had any issues when not zipaligning the apk.
     
    Thats likes this.
  3. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    I haven't been able to get ninja morph to work on system apps that are currently in use well. I unzip the rom zip, edit the apk either manually or using ninjamorph, rezip, resign and flash in recovery. I use root explorer to extract and zip then Signapktic to sign the zip.

    Edit: When copying a lot of files I will extract the contents of the apk and copy/paste the png files with root explorer, I do this for battery mods and 4g/3g icons because it is a PITA to do each file individually with NM. Then zip the file, rename the extension apk and sign and follow the directions above. Turdbogls is correct the systemUI.apk has the signal icons. You may want to look at modifying a CM7 theme apk so the changes can be done easily to each new rom instead of having to do it each time after you flash, (given you are on AOSP)
     
    Thats likes this.
  4. Thats

    Thats That guy is This
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    1,169
    383
    183
    Male
    Air Force
    Fargo, ND
    So...I could I get a step by step? I feel like I am doing something wrong when I pull the .apk of a CM7 Theme apart and try to put it back together and sign it.
     
  5. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    I know this will work, may be a PITA but it will.

    Do you want to use root explorer to do most the copy/paste (useful for large amounts of png files that need to be switched but you need to make sure everything is named properly before so you need to be getting the png files from another theme or frameworkres.apk or systemUI.apk)?

    Use root explorer and extract all of the theme apk. This will make a folder under /sdcard/extracted. Also extract all from the source apk.

    The folders you want to use are /sdcard/extracted/source/res/drawable-hdpi/ and /sdcard/extracted/theme/res/drawable-hdpi

    Look at what the files are named in the theme and the source to make sure they match. They do? Good :D

    Use multiselect to pick out the png files you wish to use in the theme. Copy them, and paste into the theme apk in the drawable-hdpi folder. If you are importing from multiple sources you will of course have to do this more than once.

    Once you are done adding your files, then use root explorer and zip the files within /sdcard/extracted/theme, there should be 5 IIRC, use multi select and choose zip. Now navigate to /sdcard/speedsoftware/zip and fild the zip file, you will need to rename it themename.apk once done use signapktic and sign the apk so you can install it, use the testkey it works fine. The new apk by default is placed on the root of your SD card.

    Do you want to use NinjaMorph (useful if you are using png files that are not already named)?
    extract the sources of the png files you wish to use with root explorer, you will want to find the icons in /sdcard/extracted/source/res/drawable-hdpi

    Open ninjamorph and start new project, pick out the theme you want to use as your template. Navigate to the /res/drawable-hdpi folder and pick out the icon you want to change. Navigate to the source and also looking for the drawable-hdpi folder and choose the icon within it to change your icon to. Repeat until you have all the icons you want changed. Exit NM, reopen NM and finish project.

    At this point I still have to resign the apk because my phone hates NM but I do it with signapktic and they install fine

    I use a mixture of these 2 methods as some icons I have kanged from roms for the TB, others I received from a theme dev who stopped theming last December and posted his source for free download.

    If you still have questions please ask.
     
    Thats likes this.
  6. Thats

    Thats That guy is This
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    1,169
    383
    183
    Male
    Air Force
    Fargo, ND
    After I do the NinjaMorph and change the icons the damn statusbar goes into an unfixable bootloop of force closes. This is getting frustrating.

    When I reboot the status bar is completely gone.

    What key should i be using to sign with?
     
  7. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    Okay this is the same issue I had when trying to edit the systemUI.apk

    Sign the apk with testkey.

    If you are trying to edit the systemUI.apk and frameworkres.apk then to keep from getting the FC party do the following.

    Extract all from the rom zip. Edit the system apps from within the extracted zip using the methods I listed above. Once you have the apk files edited with NM and completed navigate to /sdcard/extracted/theme/ in root explorer. Select all the items in there and zip. Then sign that zip with signapktic using testkey. Finally flash in recovery. If this is the rom you are running dont worry about wiping it shouldn't matter.
     
    Thats likes this.
  8. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    You guys are doing way too much work.

    Take a theme you like, open it on your PC with winrar. Navigate to res>drawable hdpi

    Drag your new, correctly named icons into the open hdpi folder on your PC, "add and replace>ok" do this for all the icons you want to add. Then sign it and install. (I use AutoAPKTool - free on xda)

    Forget NM and Root Explorer. I don't know where you guys learned that method, but I have never had any luck with NM or MM and that's probably where your problems are stemming from
     
    Thats likes this.
  9. Thats

    Thats That guy is This
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    1,169
    383
    183
    Male
    Air Force
    Fargo, ND
    I tried your version too, Worm. With No avail.
     
  10. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    When I have a PC that I can install things on and runs faster than my phone I will use the PC for most of my tweaking however currently the PC I have access to is slower than my phone :eek: so I am stuck with the gritty workarounds. :D
     
  11. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Ok, break it down for me (didn't read entire posts, apologies) what happens when you change them? Don't show up or your statusbar FC's?

    if it's FC I'm willing to bet you're not signing the theme correctly
     
    Thats likes this.
  12. Thats

    Thats That guy is This
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    1,169
    383
    183
    Male
    Air Force
    Fargo, ND
    I actually am signing the theme correctly because I have reinstalled the theme.apk with my icons that I want 4 times now and they still do not change., the one that I can't Sign correctly is the systemui.apk That one has caused all of the FC's
     
  13. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Thats likes this.
  14. Thats

    Thats That guy is This
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    1,169
    383
    183
    Male
    Air Force
    Fargo, ND
    Do I just have to sign and push? If that's the case I can easily do that!
     
  15. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    I'm not sure to be honest. I don't know anyone who manually mods their sUI, just themes.

    You do realize that once you apply the theme, because you modded the sUI and not the theme that your 4G icon won't show up, right?

    If you're going to mod your sUI manually instead of a theme you may as well do everything manually
     
    Thats likes this.
  16. Thats

    Thats That guy is This
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    1,169
    383
    183
    Male
    Air Force
    Fargo, ND
    The problem is: I am modding the theme and I believe correctly signing it, but the 4G icons are not showing up as modified when I apply the theme and reboot my phone.
     
  17. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    send me the theme, I'll look at it real quick. I PM'd you my email

    edit: did the theme have 4G icons to start with, or did you just add them?
     
    Thats likes this.
  18. Thats

    Thats That guy is This
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    1,169
    383
    183
    Male
    Air Force
    Fargo, ND
    I added them, and side note: I just pushed the systemui.apk through adb and still got the statusbar forceclose loop. Sigh, back into recovery I go for the 10th time today.

    I am REALLY starting to think that the problem is with my ROM (SHift 1.2)
    I installed that theme that you recommended, Worm, and I still have my annoying green 4G LTE from regular CM7. Gahhh
     
  19. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Ok, if you added them you're not going to get it to work with decompiling the theme. I don't know how to do that yet so you're on your own.

    That theme I linked has 4G icons, so take the ones you want to use and add them, sign and install. Like I said in the email make sure you've changed all 8 4G icons.
     
    Thats likes this.
  20. Thats

    Thats That guy is This
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    1,169
    383
    183
    Male
    Air Force
    Fargo, ND
    Odd that when I apply that theme the 4G icons do not get modified, and I have not edited that .apk yet, either. So I am at a lose, it comes with 4G icons, but they are not overriding when themes are applied.

    About the think I should just go to CM7 and start from scratch.
     
  21. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    No, it's not lol. You can't add icons to a theme that they didn't exist in to begin with without "recreating the theme" (decompiling)

    Are you 100% positive you've modded all 8 4G icons and named them correctly in the naked theme? That's my base theme so I know it works

    edit: also, are you sure you're modding the icons in the drawable-hdpi of naked theme?
     
    Thats likes this.
  22. Thats

    Thats That guy is This
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    1,169
    383
    183
    Male
    Air Force
    Fargo, ND
    Well I'm going to give up with the Orion theme then, and move towards your base theme, but when I apply yours: here is the result:

    I have no edited it at all.
    [​IMG]
     
  23. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    I'm an idiot, that theme doesn't have a custom 4G icon. He made me one with 4G icon in it so I could mod it easier. Completely forgot. That's my bad.

    Your theme that you were trying to mod is useless without a 4G icon, as is the theme I linked. If you want to add 4G you have to find a theme that has a custom 4G icon included

    I know a few themes, but they're not "stock" looking like the one you emailed me is, do you want me to give you some names?
     
    Thats likes this.
  24. Thats

    Thats That guy is This
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    1,169
    383
    183
    Male
    Air Force
    Fargo, ND
    Thank God I wasn't going crazy! Any chance you have that edited one he gave you? ;)

    Or I'll just take some names you have, now that I realized what my problem was, I want to get my theme on!
     
  25. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    I can't link it to you because it includes pngs from one of his paid themes.

    Try Bars, Nex, Blue Unity, Cloudy, Evoluer

    Actually try this it may have a custom 4G icon and it's pretty stock looking, I'm not 100% sure because I always used stuff like the above themes
     
    Thats likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...