1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can't Scroll on Certain Web Pages

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tjdunklee, Jan 13, 2012.

  1. tjdunklee

    tjdunklee Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012

    Jan 13, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    I'm new here so I can't post a direct link to an example, but I'm having issues on certain web pages while using the default browser on my Bionic. When I load these pages they seem to load fine, but then I can't scroll up and down at all. It is locked in place and I can't seem to make it activate scrolling at all no matter what I do. There is an article on Gizmodo title "All These Waterproof Gadgets Are Making Me Wet!" that definitely has the problem. Anybody have any idea what is happening?
     

    Advertisement

  2. tjdunklee

    tjdunklee Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012

    Jan 13, 2012
    6
    0
    5
  3. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,006
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,006
    4,973
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    That page scrolls with Opera, does not scroll with Dolphin, does not scroll with Browser.

    In Browser it flags an error in JavaScript code controlled by the website as unsafe.

    ... Thom
     
  4. tjdunklee

    tjdunklee Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012

    Jan 13, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Yea, there seems to be an error on the page. The odd part is, the page works fine on my friend's Nexus S and a co-workers iPhone. Why can't the Bionic handle it?
     
  5. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,006
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,006
    4,973
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    DBTB (don't blame the Bionic).

    It is under the control of the website. The website is sending out different versions of the page based on its interpretation of what it thinks the browser is running on that is calling it. You can check out ... Set Browser UAString ... and ... http://androidforums.com/motorola-droid-bionic/438060-bionic-reference-terms-links.html#post3398984 ... and change how Browser on your Bionic is identified.

    Find out the UAString from the phones that work and try it in Browser.

    As I reported ... Opera on the Bionic scrolls ... Dolphin and Browser do not ... Browser identifies a JavaScript error.

    ... Thom
     
  6. Lars

    Lars Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Assuming it is not a mobile page, simply zoom in slightly (using two fingers) and then scrolling will be enabled. That page is mobile and unruly. When I run into that I switch to Desktop mode. Dolphin has a toolbox addin that allows quick toggling to desktop mode.
     
  7. tjdunklee

    tjdunklee Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012

    Jan 13, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Thanks for the suggestion, but that doesn't work. I can't zoom in or out at all since it is a mobile page. I've tried everything when it comes to tapping/pinching/etc.
     
  8. tjdunklee

    tjdunklee Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012

    Jan 13, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    I changed to UAString in the Debug setting and I'm still having the same problems. I tried all of the different UAStrings and they all did the same thing. I'm just shocked I would have to do something like that for a web page to load properly. Does everybody else on a stock Bionic have this problem on that page I linked to?
     
  9. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,006
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,006
    4,973
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Yes I have that problem on the page you referenced. I also tried changing the USAtring in Browser before leaving the last message and it did not good.

    If you look at the same address using your Windows IE browser you will see that it is rendered completely different.

    Browser shows shows a JavaScript error ... see below.

    Bottom line ... a bug(s) in the webpage that you referenced.

    ... Thom
     

    Attached Files:

  10. tjdunklee

    tjdunklee Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012

    Jan 13, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    I agree, it's definitely a problem with the page. I have just had the same problem on several other pages also that weren't on the Gizmodo site. It's awfully frustrating when the errors are handled much more graciously by other phones. Hopefully when the Bionic gets ICS this will be fixed.
     
  11. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,006
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,006
    4,973
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    This page throws an error in Browser when it loads and that prevents the scrolling. Scrolling does not work in Dolphin but does work in Opera Mobile and Firefox for this page.

    The JavaScript error is associated with manipulating a "frame" on the page.

    The error occurs in Browser when UAString is set to either Android or Desktop.

    Future releases of Browser and Dolphin might not have the conflict. On the other hand, future releases of Opera Mobile and Firefox might "catch up" and then exhibit the same behavior.

    So ... short term ... if it is important to you ... use Opera Mobile or Firefox.

    ... Thom
     
  12. Lars

    Lars Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    I tried the linked page with dolphin in desktop mode and it works fine.
     
  13. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,006
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,006
    4,973
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    When I try Dolphin as soon as the page appears it can be scrolled up. About 1-2 seconds later it "locks" and scrolling doesn't happen.

    I assume it is still loading when it is able to scroll and then runs into a problem similar to Browser.

    ... Thom
     
  14. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,006
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,006
    4,973
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
  15. Lars

    Lars Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    My point is google+/picasa is worthless for sharing screen grabs lol.
     

Share This Page

Loading...