1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Captivate and AT&T - Buyer Beware

Discussion in 'AT&T' started by IAmRootUser, Nov 3, 2010.

  1. IAmRootUser

    IAmRootUser Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Just got off the phone with AT&T after I got a message about data overage on my account. I received an E-mail that there was 430Mb of data used during the night while I was at home asleep. AT&T's response was that all smart phones receive automatic updates. I told them about all app installs requiring approval and they said that the manufacturer or Google could have pushed the update. So basically they are blaming Google or Samsung for 430Mb of data used in one night on my device. Total data usage per month max on this account in the past 3 months has been 39Mb since I am connected to wireless 90% of the time (both at work and at home). They offered no other solution than recommending I switch to a higher data plan. This is a failure on AT&T's Customer Relations (or lack there of) in my mind and a warning to anyone considering a Android on AT&T! Watch them carefully or they will get their overage charges out of you.
     

    Advertisement

  2. canon3133

    canon3133 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    11
    1
    16
    I think I read somewhere last month that Verizon got in big trouble for doing something like this and charge the user for the data usage/update
     
  3. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Welcome to the Android Forums, Iamrootuser.

    Thanks for the reminder on those data usage issues.

    I've moved the thread out of the News area and into the AT&T forums where it's a better fit.
     
  4. mrcamp

    mrcamp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    135
    11
    38
    Chicago
    This is at least the 3rd time I am reading about this phone using up so much data in the middle of the night when it's not being used at all. Not sure what kind of update it's doing, but that's a lot of data!
     
  5. FreakyLocz14

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,344
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,344
    76
    148
    Someone needs to sue AT&T.
     
  6. mi04se1

    mi04se1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    251
    7
    56
    White Lake, MI
    I only used 113 mb in 12 days and I keep the phone on 24/7.Im not to worried about the usage because I have unlimited.
     
  7. Manuelitoohno

    Manuelitoohno Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    43
    3
    16
    Student
    Las Vegas
    thank god for my grandfathered unlimited data plan!
     
  8. Okinz

    Okinz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    11
    1
    16
    Head of Security
    Houston, TX
    I don't have unlimited and i did go over once when i first got the phone and thought i could pull off just 250mb a month. But since then its only eating up data when im using it pretty much, i haven't seen anything big in the background. But on the other hand i have seen ATT report the wrong numbers to me on my data usage. The few days after my data reset i recieved a notification that i had used 65% of my data plan. I logged into the ATT myWireless app and it said i had only used like 75mb. So somewhere somebody messed up. I never did get billed for an overage but i guess their system does have flaws.
     

Share This Page

Loading...