1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Captivate Problem need some help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SunTzuXI, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. SunTzuXI

    SunTzuXI Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    So a buddy of mine gave me his samsung captivate said he screwed it up and cant get it to work anymore. And if I could fix it I could have it since he bought another phone from someone else. I asked him what he did.
    Well while he was going to update thru kies before screen went into the download mode he had turned off usb debugging. Then the phone went into download mode. and was stuck there. Now when the phone turns on you get the black background with a pic of phone orange or red triangle with ! and computer. Is there anyway to resolve this issue to get it to back to booting properly with the original software thats on the phone or did the software that was originally on the phone get deleted. I have read many of the forums pertaining to the graphics when it comes on but I havent seen any where it had what e did with the debugging.
    I tried to get it into the emergency recovery mode but that was a fail.
    I have spent the past couple days reading and trying to figure it out. Many thanks for all feedback.
    Tried Odin:
    With Odin I get

    <OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 0)


    I think its because he had turned off the usb debugging right before it went into download mode
    I tired the AIO Captivate tools
    and it keeps saying to turn usb debuuging on


    I can get it into download mode from the black screen with phone orange triangle computer by holding the up/down volume button and power button after screen flashes 2 times plug usb cable into phone releasing power button and download mode appears but cant go any further than that.

    Also saw where a jig would brick the download so you could boot back regular does this work?

    Like I said USB DEBUGGING was turned of

    Thank you for all and any help.
     

    Advertisement

  2. reinbeau

    reinbeau Klaatu barada nikto
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,333
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

    Sep 14, 2010
    1,333
    218
    163
    Pilates Instructor
    South of Boston, MA
    You've got a soft brick. Can you connect to the computer via USB? If you can, you can use Odin to get back to stock.
     
    SunTzuXI likes this.
  3. SunTzuXI

    SunTzuXI Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    I have odin and have tried it but the problem is since he had disabled the usb debugging before it went into download mode to do update once i get in the download mode wont conect to the computer. Or do I have that all wrong.
    Odin returns with osucceded and o failed.
     
  4. SunTzuXI

    SunTzuXI Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Ok tryied odin again and this is what I am getting for past five minutes I understand may take longer

    <ID:0/003> Added!!
    <ID:0/003> Odin v.3 engine (ID:3)..
    <ID:0/003> File analysis..
     
  5. SunTzuXI

    SunTzuXI Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Pk its not doing anything at all it just sat at analyzing files
     
  6. reinbeau

    reinbeau Klaatu barada nikto
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,333
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

    Sep 14, 2010
    1,333
    218
    163
    Pilates Instructor
    South of Boston, MA
    One thing I haven't explored at all is ADB. I'm pretty sure with ADB you can put it into debugging mode, but I have no idea how to do it. Hopefully someone with ADB skills will come along and teach us both something!
     
    SunTzuXI likes this.
  7. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    34,924
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    34,924
    30,637
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    SunTzuXI likes this.
  8. SunTzuXI

    SunTzuXI Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    11
    0
    15
  9. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    34,924
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    34,924
    30,637
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Are you sure you are using the correct files to flash? It is very specific by model ... all Odin3 downloads are not created equal.

    For the stock Captivate you need I897UCJF6.

    Uninstall your current Odin3 and download and use this one.
     
    SunTzuXI likes this.
  10. SunTzuXI

    SunTzuXI Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Same exact one I used deleted it and downloaded again from different mirror just in case and still have it setting on analyzing. I do ty both for posting trying to help with this issue but I think its gonna have to be sent off to be repaired.
     
  11. SunTzuXI

    SunTzuXI Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    I am wanting to try odin1.7 and not the one click downloader so does anyone know where i can get Stock 2.1 PIT/PDA Firmware Package for the captivate
     
  12. SunTzuXI

    SunTzuXI Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Well that didnt work I will have to sent it in for a JTAG brick fix its connect to the comp just not able for it to connect to pone.
    TY for all the help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...