1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [CDMA] Unlocked Bootloader, what next

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by weenerdogg, Sep 11, 2011.

  1. weenerdogg

    weenerdogg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    15
    0
    35
    Clerk/Model
    Fort Worth, TX
    I used to HTC tool to unlock my bootloader. I was considering doing a backup but all the TWRP info references revolutionary. It is a non issues using the HTC method? I really regret getting the OTA update now. I want to add the viper ROM to get rid of the bloatware. At any rate just curious what my next steps should be. I have read the stickies and am more than glad to read so if anyone has links that I overlooked please point them out. Thanks!

    Edit, found my answer. Thanks for putting up with a newbie.
     

    Advertisement

  2. weenerdogg

    weenerdogg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    15
    0
    35
    Clerk/Model
    Fort Worth, TX
    I went to install TWRP via moving the renamed .zip to the root directory. I then went to went to Hboot and it says no image. I moved the file over so I know there was an image in the zip. What am I missing? Do I need to rename the image as well?

    I am waiting for it to ask me if I want to flash what is in the file but since it says it is empty it won't. I'm at a loss here.

    "Then boot into HBOOT. HBOOT will automatically scan for the file, and if it was named correctly, it will ask you if you want to flash what's in the file. Say yes, and it will do it's thing. That's it."
     
  3. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    You can't be install recovery that way, you need the modified twrp made for hboot 1.5.
     
  4. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
  5. weenerdogg

    weenerdogg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    15
    0
    35
    Clerk/Model
    Fort Worth, TX
    Thanks wake, this is genius!
     
  6. justa4door

    justa4door Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    21
    0
    35
    Health Insurance
    East Otto, New York
    ok im also in the same boat here .. im "unlocked" but I don't know why but I cant get su (superuser) to push ..

    i installed it from the marker but it does not let me get su rights or get to system apps

    I have since unpluged my phone so its still unlocked . am i able to plug it back in and get back to the MSdos to they to repush everything

    I am surprised that there is not a step by step for 1.5
     
  7. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    first, installing su from the market doesnt make you have root access.

    now this is what you need to do, do u have windows linux or mac?
    go here: Android SDK | Android Developers
    and download the correct file for your os.
    if you are using windows, dont use the exe, download the zip file.

    once downloaded, extract the file to the root of your hard drive, here is a guide i wrote for this: http://androidforums.com/evo-3d-all-things-root/406577-android-sdk-windows-based-guide.html

    next, download the modified twrp recovery and su in the xda guide
    put the twrp file in the toold folder of the sdk file you just extracted, this file will be named recovery.img

    now, connect your phone to the pc, under menu settings apps development, make sure usb debugging is checked

    open a command prompt

    cd to where you unzipped the sdk tools, if you followed my guide you need to issue the command cd c:\android\sdk\tools

    Make sure fastboot is off menu settings power uncheck fastboot. Power off. power on using volume down and power to boot into bootloader

    then issue fastboot flash recovery recovery.img

    this should go through and you will now have custom recovery

    you can test this by issuing fastboot reboot recovery and you should reboot to twrp recovery.

    make a nandroid

    mount sdcard in the mounts and put the su file in the root of your sdcard

    then flash zip and you will have su privileges.

    report back with any errors
     
  8. weenerdogg

    weenerdogg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    15
    0
    35
    Clerk/Model
    Fort Worth, TX
    Ok so I got to here:

    Now do the following in ur command prompt, hitting enter after each command.

    Code:
    adb push recovery.img /sdcard/

    and it says "C:\rootevo3d\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb push recovery.img/sdcard/
    'adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file."

    Sigh. What did I do now? Thanks for all the help. You are truly a saint.

    Edit: adb is in program tools. Should I put it in that folder instead? Is the goal to have the image and SU in the same folder as adb?
     
  9. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    Don't go through adb
    Put all commands and files you need in the folder with adb
    Fastboot will push the recovery you don't have to have it on the sdcard first.
     
  10. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    if you noticed in the instructions i gave, i used no adb commands, dont just do what you want, you are unlocked through htc, you did not get su installed from revolutionary.

    you are not rooted just unlocked that is why you need to go through fastboot
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...