1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Cm 7.1.0-rc1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by almahix, Jun 28, 2011.

  1. almahix

    almahix Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    280
    37
    43
    Retired software whore
    Southern CA
    Update available just popped up on my Droid. Checking it out now.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Sportster

    Sportster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    449
    25
    43
    Male
    Steelworker
    Indiana, US
    Doesn't Multitask AT all. Very militant about it, too. Even going to the main screen with a music app like PowerAmp running kills the thing,stops playing. I can't use it like this...
     
  3. almahix

    almahix Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    280
    37
    43
    Retired software whore
    Southern CA
    I am afraid that is true amongst most of the custom GB roms, certainly all that I've tried. Perhaps another reason why Vz or Moto never pushed out an update.
     
  4. KidFlash

    KidFlash Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    104
    13
    38
    I've had that problem since 7.0.3. However, once I ran this script, multitasking was SO much better. Read the whole post to understand how the supercharger script works, but in short, it changes how memory is managed and how much is available.
     
  5. Liebensaft

    Liebensaft Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    61
    8
    16
    The Dirty T
    I can play Cut the Rope with this ROM and only this ROM. Text notifications are spotty, like every other GB ROM I've tried, but like I said, Cut the Rope = keeper right now.
     
  6. almahix

    almahix Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    280
    37
    43
    Retired software whore
    Southern CA
    I would cut the rope too if only someone would fix the wifi issue in Android. I have a wireless router in a central location and get excellent coverage everywhere, but the wifi keeps getting flubbed up frequently, requiring me to toggle airplane mode to restore wifi. I am so tired of having to do that. I am home almost always due to illness and the 3G works ok upstairs in the back of the house, elsewhere I get 1x if anything, so I really need the wifi. PLEASE SOMEBODY, ANYBODY, FIX IT! I BEG PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE!
     
  7. mihalich

    mihalich Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    425
    44
    43
    South Orange County, CA
    I don't have any problems with Wifi on the latest continuous. Are you sure it's not your wifi router that keeps dropping you? I just had to replace my old net gear router cuz it would drop my phone and my laptops frequently (like every few hours). I just bought a new NetGear N600, and I'm getting the full 5Mb dsl speed on the phone over my wifi on the 2.5Ghz frequency. Hasn't dropped me once.

    Joe
     
  8. almahix

    almahix Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    280
    37
    43
    Retired software whore
    Southern CA
    Joe,
    I have 3 wifi capable routers, and they all exhibit the same problem. None of my wireless netbooks or laptops have connectivity issues, just the damn phone. CM 6.1.2 does the same thing, but to a lesser degree. I've also tried simply stunning and liquid roms, and the problem doesn't go away. I've also tried different kernels and basebands.

    When I say I often need to toggle wifi or airplane mode, it can sometimes be several times in just a few minutes. No exaggeration.

    It is very frustrating, and I want to kill my phone, violently!
     
  9. almahix

    almahix Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    280
    37
    43
    Retired software whore
    Southern CA
    I've been using Project Elite GB rom v5.0.2 for a couple of days and my wifi, while not perfect, seems to be somewhat more stable, an improvement over recent experiments with CM, SS, and Liquid GB roms.
     
  10. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    I use Wifi DAILY through several access points and NO issues at all with any nightly CM ROM.
     
  11. AndroidsOfTara

    AndroidsOfTara Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    459
    138
    68
    Androids
    Tara
    Which of the presets from the script's menu are you using on your phone?
     
  12. KidFlash

    KidFlash Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    104
    13
    38
    I used the ones from this image. I haven't tested any other values but these are pretty good.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...