1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Cm7

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thunderkiss65, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. thunderkiss65

    thunderkiss65 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    150
    14
    38
    Herbicide Applicator licensed under texas departme
    Arlington Texas
    I am giving my phone to my daughter. The phone is rooted with cm 7. Will I have a problem at metro getting her old phone number added to the rooted cm7 phone. Or do I have to unroot before I get the number change ?
     

    Advertisement

  2. nicktheqwik

    nicktheqwik Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011

    Jul 1, 2011
    23
    1
    16
    Sales
    DFW, Texas
    It would probably be good idea to unroot and go back to the stock ROM. I have a friend that owns a Metro franchise store, and he advised me that if Metro finds out that you have rooted your phone, they will cancel your account with them. Just a thought, I don't know anyone that this has happened to personally, but this is from one of their own employees.
     
  3. Darnell0216

    Darnell0216 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    If they do, that's something new. All they do is tell you you're on your own and push you out the door if you come in to ask for support. It's very, very rare to find an Authorized Dealer that doesn't care though and as long as anything they need to access is still functional, they'll still help.
     
  4. thunderkiss65

    thunderkiss65 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    150
    14
    38
    Herbicide Applicator licensed under texas departme
    Arlington Texas

    Well I went to metro tonight and had no prob with them changing my daughters old phone number to the optimous. In the past I did change the number with no problem with cm7. I just wasn't sure if they would do a number change from another phone. Note I did make sure I didn't go to a corporate store.
     
  5. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,456
    413
    Jax Fl
    Do you even need to go to a store to change a number? cant you do it by phone?
     
  6. thunderkiss65

    thunderkiss65 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    150
    14
    38
    Herbicide Applicator licensed under texas departme
    Arlington Texas
     
  7. thunderkiss65

    thunderkiss65 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    150
    14
    38
    Herbicide Applicator licensed under texas departme
    Arlington Texas
    new optimous i see you have that galaxy, have you tried to go to dialer and dial **583385## that was the only way i could get it cdma only, it has a option to take it out of global mode 4g, It helped on my battery alot, only thing was had to reboot but it wasnt much of a hassle.
     
  8. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,456
    413
    Jax Fl
    I was asking if it could be done on the phone, I dont know if it can but thought I read it could.

    My galaxy is the galaxy prevail, not the same as the one you mention. It is not a 4g phone it is the new and only cdma android on boost mobile.
     
  9. thunderkiss65

    thunderkiss65 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    150
    14
    38
    Herbicide Applicator licensed under texas departme
    Arlington Texas
    I still have the samsung indulge 4-g, a guy on here is asking about buying it. its in perfect condition and rooted, selling it for 200.
     
  10. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,456
    413
    Jax Fl
    Not a bad price, though with the new lg bryce/esteem coming out with just nice upgraded hardware it might make it tough to sell.
     
  11. thunderkiss65

    thunderkiss65 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    150
    14
    38
    Herbicide Applicator licensed under texas departme
    Arlington Texas
    I have it on ebay. The same phone on there is going for 275, I set it at 225 since i just bought the car charger about 2 months ago.

    [​IMG]Samsung Galaxy R910 Indulge - Black (Metro PCS) Smar... | eBay

    some reason when if i post it on here doesnt pull up. have to put item mumber at end in. 260822806692
     
  12. jv951

    jv951 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    24
    1
    16
    Buying Gold And Making Money
    Riverside, California
     
  13. mario0318

    mario0318 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    223
    32
    43
    I second that.

    I've switched old numbers with new phones a few times by dialing 228 or 611 from the phone you want the number to be ported to.

    I've never had to go to a store for it since I found out about this. You'll need a few phone specific numbers before you call though, like the MEID (which is usually behind the battery) and your account pin as mentioned above.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...